Spiced Slow Cooker Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
So low maintenance, I loved it! Just slice the apples and put them in the slow cooker and forget about it for 6 hours. Definitely adjust the amount of sugar according to your apples. I had Golden Delicious apples, which were sweet, so I only used 1/4 cup water and 1/4 cup brown sugar. Instead of the pumpkin pie spice, I just used 1 t. cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I used half of the required sugar and the result was tart and deliscious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
So easy and so good. Good hot or cold. Smiles from everyone. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Although I found the brown color off-putting, my five and three year old sons LOVED this homemade apple sauce. I did have to make my own pumpkin pie spice because I had all the ingredients but not the jarred mixture labeled "pumpkin pie spice." This may be why my turned out so brown, all the spices were ground fresh before mixing. But, as I said, my kids loved it and the taste I had (watching my sugar,so I didn't have a whole serving) was pretty awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Point, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
So good. Used a little less sugar.....then served it warm in little bowls with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Favorite family dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This is a great recipe and so much better than any store bought stuff! I took the tip one reviewer wrote about placing a towel between the lid and the crock pot. I used apple cider on both batches but will still probably reduce the qty of liquid at the start. I also added 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon because I love it. I will be making many more batches and canning them for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Loved it! I followed the recipe exactly, except I used all pears (I had a huge craving for them.) Will definitely put this down as a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
So easy and so amazing. Threw the apples and water in the crockpot before bed, and in the morning added the sugar and spice, making for an awesome breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This is wonderful and easy. The only change I made was I did a 1/4 c apple juice and 1/4 c water. It just gave it more depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This is the best applesauce I have ever had!! I normally do not care for applesauce but can't stop eating this! My husband who likes applesauce loves it too! We have a golden delicious apple tree so I only put in 2 tbs. of brown sugar since they are sweeter apples and it was the perfect sweetness. It tasted like dessert. We both liked it better than pie so I will be making tons of it to freeze with our apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese

Just set it and forget it. Come home to cheesy comfort food in your crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States