Spiced Slow Cooker Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I read the reviews first. Here's what I changed based on what I read: 1. 1/4 cup of water instead of 1/2. 2. I waited until after the apples had cooked and tasted. I used tart apples, so I did 1/2 cup of brown sugar. 3. 1 heaping tsp of pumpkin spice 4. A dash of nutmeg and cinnamon Turned out AMAZING and just the right consistency for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
So good! I decreased the brown sugar down to 1/2c because I used honey crisp apples. Next time I will double or even triple the recipe, since 8 apples cooked down to nothing, and the two of us will be finishing it all in one day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Delicious! And as easy as a recipe that involves peeling a lot of apples can be. I ended up reducing the brown sugar to 1/2 cup and using apple pie spice and cinnamon since I didn't have any pumpkin pie spice. I put it in the crockpot before I went to bed and added the sugar/spices when a woke up. Worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This recipe is awesome! The applesauce turned out great- my girls loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Overall, a pretty decent recipe! The pumpkin spice was a nice touch I wouldn't have thought of myself. However, I found the sauce to be quite watery so next time I'll cut the water in half. And too much sugar! Definitely cutting the brown sugar down to probably 1/3 of a cup. I'd give it an 8/10 :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Very good recipe! My husband and I both love it. I will make it again. I really liked the spice. I used McIntosh apples that were a bit tart so the recommended amount of sugar was fine. You could easily reduce the amount of sugar in the recipe if you are concerned about sugar intake. I left the peels on the apples and cut them into 1/2" or so cubes (I used an apple corer which sped up the prep time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
tried this and I loved it.. had a few people say it was too sweet for them, I didn't think it was but next time I might scale back some brown sugar. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
YUM! I doubled the recipe for my large crock pot and put in 1/2 the brown sugar. It was perfect! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I've been making it this way for years........ I don't add any water as I like it thick and in fact, I take the lid off at the end so it will thicken up. I also don't add any sugar - if you use sweet apples, you don't need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Simple, easy, and oh so yummy! I had to pull my mom and kids away from it! Love it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States