Spiced Slow Cooker Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
YUM! I doubled the recipe for my large crock pot and put in 1/2 the brown sugar. It was perfect! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I've been making it this way for years........ I don't add any water as I like it thick and in fact, I take the lid off at the end so it will thicken up. I also don't add any sugar - if you use sweet apples, you don't need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Simple, easy, and oh so yummy! I had to pull my mom and kids away from it! Love it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Used 2# Golden Delicious and 1# Granny Smith. Peeled and diced the apples, used 1/2 cup orange juice, 1/4 cup dark brown sugar, some cinnamon and nutmeg - added all the above at the beginning. Crockpot on high for 1 hour - low for 2 1/2 hours, mashed lightly at the end. Perfect for our taste. CookieMon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hico, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
We let the shell on, the kids like the extra oomph, and I usually mix my own fall spice for everything apple and pumpkin. 1/4 cup cinnamon (I like the less bite kind) with that as your base add small amounts of your fav spice. Use clove and or allspice sparingly. We love nutmeg that is usually my second ingredient, then a touch of cloves and allspice. Sometimes I add ginger too. Apple pie is awesome this way. And it meets your family likes, I mix in a plastic boul and shake and pass it around for everyone to sniff :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This was ok as written, but I wasn't a big fan of the pumpkin pie spice in it. Made it again using cinnamon instead and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
After reading reviews of how good this was, I had to try it. OMG, how YUMMY!! Most difficult part of this was sitting on the couch watching TV while peeling and slicing the apples. :o) Had to be careful not to cut myself. After reading other reviews, I opted to add a little lemon juice, just a bit of brown sugar and a touch more cinnamon, in addition to the pumpkin pie seasoning. I did cut back on the water and oh so glad I put the towel under the lid. PERFECT consistency. Thank you for making me a change woman, never again will I buy applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody N.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This was delicious. I gave 4 stars because I modified slightly--I cut the brown sugar to 1/4c after reading all the reviews; I found this was perfectly sweet. I also made pumpkin pie spice (using Pumpkin Pie Spice II recipe from this site). Really easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This recipe is amazing. Getting an apple peeler helps if you make a double batch. I would suggest putting in a lot less brown sugar and adding some cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel_K
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
After reading the reviews I decided to make this twice- once as written, and once modified. The way it's written (as others have said) is WAY too sweet, even for me and I love sugar lol. It was also too watery. So, I cut the water and sugar to 1/4c each and used Tara's suggestion to put the tea cloth under the lid (reduces recycled moisture) and this came out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel_K

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States