Spiced Slow Cooker Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
A nice change from my normail applesauce recipes. This is a luscious side with pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I have been making applesauce for a few months now because I have a now 1 year old that I was sick of buying baby food for when I could just make it. Her favorite it chicken noodle soup and applesauce. I made this yesterday and she loved it hot. She is now eating some with toast for breakfast. The only thing I changed is I didn't have any pumpkin pie spice so I just looked what was in it and kind of made my own. I used granny smith apples because that is what I had. Next time I make this I would love to try some pears as suggested and toss in some strawberry's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This apple sauce was awesome. My whole family enjoyed it! I will never buy store bought applesauce again, it was too easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
A very good applesauce recipe - I followed the directions exactly, using the Pumpkin Spice I recipe found here on Allrecipes. To prepare my apples I peeled and cored them, cut them in half, and then sliced from stem to bottom making thin (half a cm) slices before piling them into the slow cooker. This took awhile (I'm VERY slow at peeling/cutting fruits and veggies) but I think it helped make the apples fall apart more to better copy the traditional texture you'd get in store-bought applesauce. The taste is delicious - reminds me of apple pie. One thing I would warn against is that it is INCREDIBLY sweet as written. For somebody like me who is used to unsweetened applesauce, the brown sugar is a little overwhelming. I would suggest toning down the sugar or even eliminating it all together if you prefer a fruitier taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This was excellent! I used Gala applees because I had them. I also used splenda instead of granulated sugar becaise pf doabetes. My husband found it and began eating it with rice and oatmeal for a couple or mornings, and then there was only a tiny bit left and I had to grab it if I wanted any. I'm going to buy a big bag of apples just to cook this when we shop tomorrow, and I'm going to try freezing it, if I can get enough to do that before DH and Son get their hands on it! 20 stars, if I could. Thanks bunches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I LOVE THIS! I have made it 3x in the last month, and I can't get enough of it. It tastes like apple pie filling, and it is so good! I've used a mixture each time, using Jonagold, Golden Delicious, and Cameo. It made for a great treat straight from the crock pot after playing outside in the snow. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This is really good! We are actually living in Mexico for the winter and you can't buy applesauce here. Fortunately, I do have a slow cooker and apples are readily available. It smells wonderful while it's cooking. Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This recipe is great. I was trying to find a replacement of my mom's applesauce, and it came pretty darn close. I used red delicious & Macintosh apples. I also put in about a teaspoon of vanilla and a couple sprinkles of cinnamon with the apples and water when starting cooking. Definitely great, I will make this quite often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was yummy! My 4 year old helped me peel the apples, so it was a fun project together. Woke up this morning...applesauce! I did run it through the food processor so it would be more smooth, but that is just our preference. I followed the recipe as is, and it was good! Great oatmeal topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Excellent. Super easy, but tastes like you've slaved all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States