Spiced Raisin Mini Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I've been using this recipe for years and they are one of my son's favorite breakfasts– he always requests it when I ask him what he wants. I have never used a pot, just mix all wet ingredients in a bowl, and add the combined dry ingredients to it, they turn out just fine. Also, I've never done mini muffins. I just make regular size and it takes 16-17 minutes in the oven. I used nutmeg instead of cloves for a long time, but I've tried the cloves and they are great as well. Also, I've used half white, half whole wheat flour and half white, half brown sugar and they were wonderful so I usually do it that way now. I've never used the glaze and they are delicious without it. I usually double the recipe and they are still gone in a day. My kids love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly, other than adding 1 tsp of rum extract. I loved the taste but did not like the texture, they really felt a little on the dry side and needed something extra, maybe egg, milk ~ I'm not too sure but as written this recipe is not a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This is my favorite muffin recipe I've made to date. I've made it over several times; it's even good without the glaze if you want to cut back a little on the calories or just don't have the ingredients. Either way these are always gone immediately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I substituted milk for water and 4 scoops visalus for part of the flour. They turned out delicious! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eustace, Texas, USA
Living In: Athens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Delicious! My daughter, who is one and a picky eater, has already ate three mini-muffins. I left off the icing to make them healthy. There is so much flavor in these, you just won't be able to stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Hmm, not sure what was intended with the serving amount, but half a recipe yielded me 24 muffins, or 12 servings, using the submitter’s gauge. I did expect 12 cute little mini muffins and was surprised at the yield of 24 (with a little batter still left over). Keep in mind, then, that a full recipe’s 24 servings would give you at least 48 mini muffins. Moving on, I was too lazy to follow the beginning step of combining the first six ingredients, heating them, then waiting for the mixture to cool. So I used the “unconventional” method of creaming the (softened, not melted) butter and sugar, then alternately adding the water and the dry ingredients, which I combined. I’m so familiar with this method that I had to do a double take on the recipe, as I wondered how I missed the egg when I laid out my ingredients! There is none and the muffin did not suffer for it, so this would be a good recipe to make when you find yourself without eggs! I didn’t chop the raisins and found there was no need to. These are great little two-bite muffins. I appreciate their diminutive size and the fact they aren’t too sweet. The glaze gives them the little “sweet kick" they need. These are moist and delicious as is but given these are called SPICE muffins, I could easily see adding half again as much of both the cinnamon and the cloves – the spice factor is very delicate and mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Like other users I did change the sugar amount to 1/2c white sugar and 1/4 c brown sugar. I also used 1 cup of wholewheat and 1 cup of unbleached flour. Didn't make the glaze. Very good recipe - my husband started eating them before they even cooled because they smelled so good. Very tasty and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
These were good, but could be better. The first batch I baked for 15 min. and they actually turned out pretty dry. The second batch I baked for just under 10 min. and they came out moist but I still thought something about the taste was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
These were fabulous... I made full sized muffins instead of mini though.. They were so good I ended up making two batches the same day. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShepR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
5 stars for perfect flavor, scent, texture. (I did omit the icing on top.) For the prep, I did not cook on stovetop but instead let the raisins soak in the water while I measured and prepped the rest. Then continued with the recipe. I also made a batch and used pecans instead of walnuts and added 3/4 cup Oatmeal. Kept the remaining ingredients the same. By far, the best muffin I've made yet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanBudy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States