Spiced Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I found this when searching for recipes using chick peas (had leftovers from a batch cooked in crockpot). Sounded interesting so gave it a try. Glad I did! I'll make it again. I did increase the spices quite a bit after tasting finished dish...didn't measure, just "palmed it". Have to admit that the aroma while cooking had me wondering if I'd made a mistake...the combination of spices smelled kinda strange to me, did again when opening leftovers, but I do like the flavor. It's one of those flavors that I found growing on me more with each bite. Increasing the spices considerably didn't drastically change the flavor as much as I thought it would...even though I could feel the beginning of heat in my mouth. Sent leftovers with daughter for school lunch today...waiting to see what she thinks. I used raisins and think that, like others, they add a definite depth to the flavor that's important (and I usually don't care for raisins much). Didn't have any pine nuts so couldn't add those, but will definitely next time...and there will be a next time. Thanks for the recipe!! I've been looking to increase our use of quinoa. UPDATE I changed the rating to a 5. My daughter really likes this for her school lunch. I've made it a few more times and have added pine nuts...they do add another layer of flavor/texture that we like. This is going into our regular rotation making sure to cook for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This was amazing and I would highly recommend it. All the flavors come together very well. I highly recommend including the raisins. I added some cayenne to spice it up a bit, and topped it with parsley (cilantro would be good too). Make a big batch and eat all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe. Very easy to make and incredibly flavorful, I have served it on its own to rave reviews. Furthermore, it freezes really well so the leftovers make a fantastic lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I was looking for a dish that used quinoa, and this satisfies my desire for both high fiber and high protein. This tasty dish relies on the spices added for the great flavor, so it's low in calories. I ended up using pinto beans instead, and it still tasted great. It didn't take me anywhere near 45 minutes either. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Delectable! I would definitely make the raisins mandatory. They added just the right amount of sweetness. Next time, I'll use half the amount of salt, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This was very good and basically the way I was expecting it to taste by the picture and reading the recipe. I did add about 1/2 Tbsp. of honey and omitted the pine nuts (I didn't have any), but I can't wait to try it with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Oh my gosh, this is amazing! The raisins are a must, as are the pine nuts. This was absolutely delicious and I will definitely be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Really excellent! I wished I had read the other reviews first because I also found this a bit salty. Next time I'll use half the salt or less. Otherwise, it was perfect as is. I agree with the other reviewers, pine nuts and raisons are essential
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I realized halfway into the recipe that I didn't have broth, so I used water and it worked just fine. I also didn't have garbanzo beans and used pinto beans instead. I think you could use any mild canned beans in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I made this for dinner tonight and just have to say how great it was! I followed the recipe exactly (including the raisins), but substituted toasted slivered almonds for the pine nuts. I served it with sweet apple chicken sausages and warm pita bread and hummus. Will definitely make again and again. Thanks!******2/19/13*UPDATE: I'm still loving this recipe, but like it best with dried cranberries (I never soak them) and coarsely chopped whole, raw almonds that I toast first in a dry pan. Excellent flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States