Spiced Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Really great recipe! I don't really even like quinoa, I'm just trying to add healthful sides to our meals. Contrary to other reviews my picky husband said he could do without the raisins. Cinderella you are an artist to mix all of those spices & come up with something edible, let alone great! Thank you for taking the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
This was delightfully delicious!! The flavor is prominent but not overpowering which creates a really tasty dish. I made some minor changes (substituted bullion, craisins and toasted slivered almonds and cut down the curry by 1/2tsp) but otherwise stayed true to the overall recipe. I served this as a salad so I also added a chopped orange pepper. Also, as others have stated, the raisins (or in my case craisins) are essential in giving this dish the pop of sweetness it needs so do not omit them. If you do, it changes the entire taste of this dish. Instead of plumping my craisins separately, I tossed them into the pot of cooking quinoa for the last few minutes. my hubby, who does not "do" anything remotely exotic really enjoyed this dish too! Will be making again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Good and healthy. As a side dish, this makes about six servings. You must like Mediterranean and Indian food to like this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Only one crucial change.... HALF the amount of salt. Delicious, easy, smells wonderful while cooking. I used toasted walnuts because I can't eat pinenuts. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeaSally

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Prepared this last night, but didn't have the raisins. It was great! I will get raisins for the next go around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This is an excellent base recipe and leaves so many options open for adaptation. My only specific change from what is written is to leave out the cinnamon. Personally not a fan of cinnamon with curry. My adaptions, first double the recipe. Shredded a couple of carrots into the onion and garlic saute. Left out the cinnamon. Use one can of chickpeas and roughly the equivalent of regular peas - saute/toast them in a pan together before adding. Used almonds instead of pine nuts. Definitely include the raisins. LOTS of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Wow! Loved this! Made as diected only used dried cranberries instead of raisins, and no nuts as I did not have any. Great mix of spices! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marxamus
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Amazing! I used chick peas and ground up some cashews instead of the pine nuts and raisins.. Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Wow! This is my favorite recipe in years! My best tip is use the golden raisins, they are best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Love. Love. Love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States