Spiced Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I found this when searching for recipes using chick peas (had leftovers from a batch cooked in crockpot). Sounded interesting so gave it a try. Glad I did! I'll make it again. I did increase the spices quite a bit after tasting finished dish...didn't measure, just "palmed it". Have to admit that the aroma while cooking had me wondering if I'd made a mistake...the combination of spices smelled kinda strange to me, did again when opening leftovers, but I do like the flavor. It's one of those flavors that I found growing on me more with each bite. Increasing the spices considerably didn't drastically change the flavor as much as I thought it would...even though I could feel the beginning of heat in my mouth. Sent leftovers with daughter for school lunch today...waiting to see what she thinks. I used raisins and think that, like others, they add a definite depth to the flavor that's important (and I usually don't care for raisins much). Didn't have any pine nuts so couldn't add those, but will definitely next time...and there will be a next time. Thanks for the recipe!! I've been looking to increase our use of quinoa. UPDATE I changed the rating to a 5. My daughter really likes this for her school lunch. I've made it a few more times and have added pine nuts...they do add another layer of flavor/texture that we like. This is going into our regular rotation making sure to cook for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I ♥ allrecipes
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
5 STARS ALL THE WAY! This was absolutely delish. I am very impressed. We will definitely add this to our regular rotation! I didn't have garbanzo beans, so I used spicy black beans. I doubled the spices and used half to season 3 chicken breasts then grilled them on the Foreman grill. Sliced and served chicken on top. The raisins add a burst of sweetness with the spiciness, and it's so YUM!! What a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This was amazing and I would highly recommend it. All the flavors come together very well. I highly recommend including the raisins. I added some cayenne to spice it up a bit, and topped it with parsley (cilantro would be good too). Make a big batch and eat all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I realized halfway into the recipe that I didn't have broth, so I used water and it worked just fine. I also didn't have garbanzo beans and used pinto beans instead. I think you could use any mild canned beans in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Delicious! Quinoa (pronounced keen-wa) is a whole grain and one of the most nutritious. This is a great way to serve it. I loved all the textures and flavors - I agree with another reviewer that the raisins should definitely be in it. I don't think you need to add the additional salt - there is enough salt in it from the chicken stock. Definitely will make again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This is now my husband's favorite meal. I've used dried cherries instead of raisins, and they work well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Very good. I made this for a vegan friend of mine (so used water instead of broth). I made the following substitutions and it turned out well: - used Craisins instead of raisins - used pecans instead of pine nuts - didn't have curry powder, so increased the cumin Overall, it was flavorful and yummy. We'll probably make it again. Also: my 11 month old baby liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I was looking for a dish that used quinoa, and this satisfies my desire for both high fiber and high protein. This tasty dish relies on the spices added for the great flavor, so it's low in calories. I ended up using pinto beans instead, and it still tasted great. It didn't take me anywhere near 45 minutes either. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This was one of the N*R "runner-ups", so I decided to try it. It was pretty good - the pine nuts and raisins make it, in my opinion - they add extra levels of flavor and texture. I'm not a big curry powder fan, so next time I will switch the quantities of curry powder and cumin, and maybe add some coriander or other spices. Overall a tasty dish! Had this with some steamed spinach for a light but satisfying supper. N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I'm sorry it took me so long to make this. I had all the ingredients in my pantry, super easy and a great alternative to rice as a side dish. I'll make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States