Spiced Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This was one of the N*R "runner-ups", so I decided to try it. It was pretty good - the pine nuts and raisins make it, in my opinion - they add extra levels of flavor and texture. I'm not a big curry powder fan, so next time I will switch the quantities of curry powder and cumin, and maybe add some coriander or other spices. Overall a tasty dish! Had this with some steamed spinach for a light but satisfying supper. N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
My husband said this was the first time in his life garbanzo beans had tasted good! Quick, easy, nutritious, fairly inexpensive with delicious aroma--definitely deserves a second making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Delectable! I would definitely make the raisins mandatory. They added just the right amount of sweetness. Next time, I'll use half the amount of salt, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Delicious! Quinoa (pronounced keen-wa) is a whole grain and one of the most nutritious. This is a great way to serve it. I loved all the textures and flavors - I agree with another reviewer that the raisins should definitely be in it. I don't think you need to add the additional salt - there is enough salt in it from the chicken stock. Definitely will make again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This was amazing and I would highly recommend it. All the flavors come together very well. I highly recommend including the raisins. I added some cayenne to spice it up a bit, and topped it with parsley (cilantro would be good too). Make a big batch and eat all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This is edible, but it's not something I want to make again. I added the raisins since everyone seemed to like them in this dish, but I don't know that they added anything, and the spices seemed to be off-clashing instead of coming together to make something enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This was very good even with the pine nuts left out as I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I found this when searching for recipes using chick peas (had leftovers from a batch cooked in crockpot). Sounded interesting so gave it a try. Glad I did! I'll make it again. I did increase the spices quite a bit after tasting finished dish...didn't measure, just "palmed it". Have to admit that the aroma while cooking had me wondering if I'd made a mistake...the combination of spices smelled kinda strange to me, did again when opening leftovers, but I do like the flavor. It's one of those flavors that I found growing on me more with each bite. Increasing the spices considerably didn't drastically change the flavor as much as I thought it would...even though I could feel the beginning of heat in my mouth. Sent leftovers with daughter for school lunch today...waiting to see what she thinks. I used raisins and think that, like others, they add a definite depth to the flavor that's important (and I usually don't care for raisins much). Didn't have any pine nuts so couldn't add those, but will definitely next time...and there will be a next time. Thanks for the recipe!! I've been looking to increase our use of quinoa. UPDATE I changed the rating to a 5. My daughter really likes this for her school lunch. I've made it a few more times and have added pine nuts...they do add another layer of flavor/texture that we like. This is going into our regular rotation making sure to cook for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Very good. I used red quinoa, it may need to be cooked for longer than 20 minutes. Also, I would cut down on the salt. I substituted peanuts and craisins for the pine nuts and raisins. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Quinoa is such a wonderful grain, I'm always looking for new ways to prepare it. This recipe is interesting. I followed the recipe exactly. I love the combination of spicy and sweet flavors. The pine nuts were wonderful. The only change I would make is to use less garbanzo beans (or just eliminate them altogether) since there were too many and they got in the way of the other wonderful ingredients. That's just my personal preference because I'm not the biggest fan of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States