Spiced Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
My favorite quinoa recipe ever! Hubs isn't a fan of chickpeas so we'll try pintos or something else next, but I love it as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Absolutely love this! I chose to make it into a main dish by stuffing it into pitas with cubed cucumber and homemade hummus. I left out the garbanzo beans since they are already in the hummus. I will definitely do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I just made this recipe and am eating it now! I love it! This is the first time I have made or eaten quinoa! I learned how to pronounce it yesterday. I am looking forward to making other recipes for quinoa on allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I discovered this about a month ago because I was searching for a new quinoa recipe utilizing ingredients i already had in my pantry.... I have made it 4 times already. It's great for lunch or a side dish for dinner and people love it at pot lucks! The raisins and pine nuts are critical and in my opinion the chickpeas are optional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Good stuff! I skipped nuts and raisins the first time. They're going in next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I'm not a fan of quinoa but this is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Awesome, my husband and I loved it. The raisins and pine nuts really add a great depth to the flavor. Like others I doubled the spices other than the cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I love quinoa and this recipe might very well be my all time favorite. I've made it many times and tried all kinds of tweaks to this or that. It always comes out good. Even though we are all spice lovers in my family, I think the spice combo in the original recipe is best. The only change I regularly make is to use slivered almonds in place of pine nuts. They are much less expensive and, after toasting, the deep nutty flavor is the perfect foil the sweetness of raisins, savory spices, and slight bitter of quinoa. A little extra garlic never hurts either. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This was excellent! I sauteed the onion and garlic and toasted the pine nuts in a skillet, then dumped the whole mess (minus the raisins) in the rice cooker. Push the button, wait for dinner! I stirred the raisins in at the end, as directed. Even though none of us are big raisin fans, they were excellent in this mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Meh. All the great reviews had me excited because I really enjoy quinoa, but honestly it didn't do much for me. I followed the recipe with two exceptions: (1) I used red quinoa instead of white and (2) I didn't use any pine nuts. These seem like minor enough things that they shouldn't affect the flavor too much. I love salt, but this was a little too salty for me. The raisins were the only redeeming quality--I'd probably use more if I made this again. Maybe the quality of the curry makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States