Spiced Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I love quinoa and this recipe might very well be my all time favorite. I've made it many times and tried all kinds of tweaks to this or that. It always comes out good. Even though we are all spice lovers in my family, I think the spice combo in the original recipe is best. The only change I regularly make is to use slivered almonds in place of pine nuts. They are much less expensive and, after toasting, the deep nutty flavor is the perfect foil the sweetness of raisins, savory spices, and slight bitter of quinoa. A little extra garlic never hurts either. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This was excellent! I sauteed the onion and garlic and toasted the pine nuts in a skillet, then dumped the whole mess (minus the raisins) in the rice cooker. Push the button, wait for dinner! I stirred the raisins in at the end, as directed. Even though none of us are big raisin fans, they were excellent in this mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Meh. All the great reviews had me excited because I really enjoy quinoa, but honestly it didn't do much for me. I followed the recipe with two exceptions: (1) I used red quinoa instead of white and (2) I didn't use any pine nuts. These seem like minor enough things that they shouldn't affect the flavor too much. I love salt, but this was a little too salty for me. The raisins were the only redeeming quality--I'd probably use more if I made this again. Maybe the quality of the curry makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Everyone liked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Delicious, fixed just as the recipe shows! We ate it immediately as a lunch, but I can see that it would be great as a cold salad or served as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Delicious! The raisins add such a nice sweetness. And the garbanzos add a nice crunch. A fantastic mix of texture and flavor. We try to eat about 80% plant-based, so quinoa is a staple in our household. I will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This was so much better than I thought it would be. I have never eaten quinoa before and this was a wonderful introduction to it. I followed the recipe exactly. You definitely do need the raisins. We ate it hot last night and I ate it cold for breakfast this morning. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Very nice and flavourful. I didn’t have pine nuts, but next time I have some handy, I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
This is a very good side dish. I was excited to make this because it has so many of my favourite ingredients. Quinoa, curry, chick peas. I love quinoa and how versatile it is. The flavours are good together. Don't pass up the raisins. I was going to, but at the last minute threw them in too. There isn't a lot, so they just add a little bit of sweetness to every few bites. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Use 1/2 the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States