Spiced Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Used black beans instead of garbanzo (what I had) but it was wonderful. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
The mix of spices in this dish was yummy! I was looking to make something quick with what I had on hand, and this did the trick! It accepts substitutions well. I used white beans, dried cranberries, and toasted sunflower seeds instead of chickpeas, raisins, and pine nuts. I thought it was a bit salty, so I think I will use less or no salt next time. (The chicken broth is already salty)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I really like this dish and made it vegan with the substitution of vege broth. I've been experimenting with Indian seasonings this year and notice a difference in curry seasoning. Mine was spicy so I didn't add any extra. If you are new to quinoa it is very nutritious but be sure to rinse it well or it may taste dirty (IMHO). For me the raisins balance the curry with a sweetness that is needed. I'm glad I left them in. I'm serving this dish to a vegan friend tonight with Gardein chicken-like cutlets but the dish looks hearty enough to serve in bowls with pita bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dorybixler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This recipe is very good, except I found it entirely too salty. Next time, I'm going to cut the salt out completely. I think the chicken stock has enough salt for the entire dish. Otherwise, really enjoyed the flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Freakin' awesome! Use only half can of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
It turned out really good for the first time! I doubled the curry and cumin,halved the cinnamon and added crushed red pepper flakes to make it spicy. I also added some of the sweet water I soaked the raisins in, because it didn't seem to have enough liquid towards the end of cooking. I will definitely make it again. Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Probably one of the best recipes I've found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Excellent! I didn't add any nuts and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I made this dish primarily for myself for a family dinner, hoping to take the majoirty home, but everyone tired it and loved it. Very easy to make and DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
OK. Try other quinoa recipes before going back to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States