Spiced Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
one of my fav quinoa recipes. raisins add a sweetness. daughter liked beans, raisins, and pine nuts... a little too spicy for her though. next time i'll leave out the pepper and see if she likes it better. i also used white beans instead of garbanzo. i only used 1/4 c pine nuts and it was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I wanted a different recipe for quinoa, since I usually make it with black beans and Italian sausage (another recipes on AR). I'm glad I found this! It had great flavor. I didn't have raisins, so I used Craisins, and almonds for pine nuts. I was sort of nervous about the cinnamon, but it seemed to add depth and tie everything together. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I love this recipe and have made it a number of times since first discovering it. Instead of soaking the raisins in water and adding them in at the end, I simmer them with the quinoa and chicken stock so they absorb the liquid and become more tender (I have also done this with the garbanzo beans). I have also made this without the chicken stock, subbing in the liquid from the canned garbanzo beans and adding water until it reaches 1.5 cups (usually have to add about .5 cups of water).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I really enjoy this. Omitted the pine nuts & raisins, I didn't have any, but added toasted almonds to the top and it was delicious. Also used water in place of chicken stock and it was still excellent. Will definitely be making this one again. (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Very surprising, the ingredients go well together and the seasoning is subtle. Refreshing, healthy nice dish. I added more liquid during cooking, felt the need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Very good tasting. Some of the better tasting quinoa recipes out there. I omitted pine nuts (didn't have them) and raisins as hubby doesn't like raisins in his food. Will be a regular quinoa recipe for us for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Delicious. I used low sodium stock, Jamacian curry powder, dried tart cherries instead of raisins, and toasted pumpkin seeds instead of pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This was not good. I love all of these ingredients, but not together. I'm trying to figure out how to salvage this dish, maybe a green vegetable?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Unbelievable! Used dried cranberries instead of raisins.. it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jentess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States