Spiced Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Fantastic. Added grilled chicken seasoned with Lawry's seasoning salt on top and doubled spices using 1 tsp hot curry powder and 2 tsp regular. Used half the salt called for. Even picky son raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
The only thing I did different is up the spices...and I doubled the recipe. Great recipe to compliment an Indian dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Wow, this is sensational! The only change I made was to change the raisins to dried cherries. Everything else was perfect. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CEELB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I found it a bit spicy for my tastes, but then again I'm a wimp when it comes to heat. Next time I'll reduce the spices just a little (and possibly reduce the cinnamon a little extra). Otherwise great flavour! The husband loved it. I wasn't able to use pine nuts - a little out of the budget right now. Thanks for a recipe that wasn't boring like all the other quinoa recipes out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I really enjoyed this dish. I've made this twice now once with low sodium chicken stock and pine nuts and once with vegetable stock for a vegetarian friend and slivered almonds. If pinenuts are too expensive or you don't have them the almonds are just as good. I didn't add the extra salt either time as its salty enough for me. I liked the sweetness of the raisins as well. Both times I added some chopped coriander/cilantro at the end. Tastes just as good if not better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
A great side dish. Nice to try something different. I toasted the nuts then quickly processed them to more evenly distribute through the grains. Used vegetable broth in place of chicken. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Yum! The flavors and textures in this dish are really well balanced. The only substitute I made was toasted almonds instead of pine nuts. I'm really excited to have this for lunches this week. The extra bonus is that my house smells delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
My favorite recipe ever! I use almonds (the poor man's pine nut) and dried cranberries, which I like better than the raisins. It's such an easy and quick recipe, and a great way to get your protein in! Doubles nicely. I always make extra and eat for breakfast, lunch, and dinner! Cooking some now! Yummmm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Excellent! Would be great as a side dish, but loved it as the main dish with a side salad. I used slivered almonds instead of pine nuts, because they were less expensive, and really really enjoyed it. This meal is complex in flavor but hearty, very easy to make, and comforting. Also, it is just loaded with nutrients. We made it lower fat by opting out of the oil and using broth to saute the onions in. Also, I'm a vegan and made it full vegan by using Imagine no-chicken broth (a really awesome ingredient found at Whole Foods), but also think it would work with just water. Highly recommended, will definitely make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Excellent dish! Perfect blend of spices. Will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States