Spiced Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
A great side dish. Nice to try something different. I toasted the nuts then quickly processed them to more evenly distribute through the grains. Used vegetable broth in place of chicken. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Yum! The flavors and textures in this dish are really well balanced. The only substitute I made was toasted almonds instead of pine nuts. I'm really excited to have this for lunches this week. The extra bonus is that my house smells delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
My favorite recipe ever! I use almonds (the poor man's pine nut) and dried cranberries, which I like better than the raisins. It's such an easy and quick recipe, and a great way to get your protein in! Doubles nicely. I always make extra and eat for breakfast, lunch, and dinner! Cooking some now! Yummmm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Excellent! Would be great as a side dish, but loved it as the main dish with a side salad. I used slivered almonds instead of pine nuts, because they were less expensive, and really really enjoyed it. This meal is complex in flavor but hearty, very easy to make, and comforting. Also, it is just loaded with nutrients. We made it lower fat by opting out of the oil and using broth to saute the onions in. Also, I'm a vegan and made it full vegan by using Imagine no-chicken broth (a really awesome ingredient found at Whole Foods), but also think it would work with just water. Highly recommended, will definitely make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Excellent dish! Perfect blend of spices. Will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Yum! This was my first foray into quinoa and I had to force myself to not eat the whole pot. I used red quinoa, and subbed veggie broth for the chicken stock, doubled the garlic and subbed Craisins for the raisins. SO good! Fresh from the pot, it was light yet satisfying and great for a winter night. Plus the house smelled delicious while it was simmering. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Excelllent and easy recipe. We loved it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Dorchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This is now my favorite quinoa recipe. The spices are awesome. With or without garbanzo and pine nuts, it makes a great side dish. My husband loves it, so it is a new staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I liked this recipe so much that I am going to make a batch to take as lunches for the next week. We used water instead of chicken stock and it was still amazing; the pine nuts give the quinoa a nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This is a great quick recipe for a healthy side dish. It can also be eaten as a main dish with some vegetables on the side for a balanced healthy meal since it contains plenty of protein and carbs. I didn't have chicken stock so substituted vegetable broth and used dried cranberries instead of raisins. Worked out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States