Spiced Pumpkin Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
I just tried these tonight and pulled them out of the oven not two minutes ago, and they're perfect. My first attempt at pumpkin seeds last year ended in disaster. Thankfully, the good folks at allrecipes.com make it so I can rely on other cooks' experience and suggestions to make sure that doesn't happen again. After reading the reviews, I doubled everything except the Worcestershire for the 2 1/2 cups of seeds I had, substituting seasoned salt for regular salt, and baked them at 300 for an hour, plus 8 more minutes for that extra crunch. I did use Parkay butter spray and sprinkle on Parmesan for that last 8 minutes. They're the perfect texture and taste. I'm putting this one in my recipe box. Thanks for a great recipe, Carolyn, and thanks to everyone else for their comments that helped me make such a great snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
506 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Osceola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I make this recipe myself but substitute the butter with olive oil which is healthier and doesn't burn. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
304 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
I roast pumpkin seeds on a regular basis, and I always use this recipe now that I have found it. I must warn you: the more spice mixture you use, the better they are! The perfect balance for me is actually quadruple the mixture and still 2 cups of seeds. Also, for the salt I use 1/3 regular salt and the rest seasoned salt and they are soooooooo good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
I followed someone's advice and quadrupled the amount of seasoning but kept the 2C pumpkin seeds. It turned out great! I ended up taking them to my son's teacher the next day just so I'd stop munching on them. My son said his preschool class enjoyed them too. The only other change is that I soak my seeds in salt water overnight, because that's what my mom always did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zanne Tastic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Photo by Nikki
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
These were unbelievable... really!!! I've never tried pumpkin seeds before, but after tasting these, I was hooked. They were crunchy and delicious right out of the oven... but JUST as crunchy and delicious the next day... and the day after that! The flavor reminded me a little of the original check mix... absolutely amazing! If you have any reservations about trying these... don't. Trust me, there is no possible way you won't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This was easy to make and the flavor was good but I guess it is just a texture thing with me. I don't care for the way they chew up. It is like eating sunflower seed shells. My family thought they were ok. By the way an easy way to clean out a pumpkin is with a metal Ice Cream Scoop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
These were good. Careful with how much margarine you use....too much makes them soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIGNINGMOMMYOF2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Great flavor! My husband swore he wouldn't eat them until he started to smell them cooking and ending up LOVING them! I soaked the seeds in warm water as I cleaned out the pumpkins, it seems easier to separate and clean the seeds this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
Soooo Easy and very great tasting! I sub'd garlic powder for the garlic salt.The entire family loved these. Thanks Carolyn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
My daughter had been bugging me for DAYS to make pumpkin seeds, so I found the recipe and tried it. GREAT! I added a little seasoned salt. Also, I had to bake them longer--about an hour--until they dried properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 693) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States