Spiced Pumpkin Molasses Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
perfect the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
These are good, but I'd rather have others. I want the deeper pumpkin/molasses flavor of my regular pumpkin muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Blandon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I made the following changes: used all whole wheat flour, omitted the brown sugar and added a ripe banana, replaced the canola oil with coconut oil, used full fat plain yogurt, substituted 3 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice for all the spices, and added 1/4 cup almond meal + 2 Tbs. wheat germ. Delicious and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
These are very moist and flavorful. I made a few substitutions. I had no applesauce so increased the amount of pumpkin to replace it and I don't use canola oil so had to use olive, thankfully the flavor didn't come through. I also halved the cloves and ginger due to personal preference and used the whole 6oz container of yogurt. I did not use the optional raisins but I added butterscotch chips to some of the batter and will definitely do that again. These didn't store well in an airtight container so I ended up adding a layer of paper towel and cracking the lid. Otherwise, they got very moist/sticky on top after a day or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
These were great! So moist! I didn't have the whole wheat flour, so used all white with some wheat germ. Also didn't have brown sugar, so had to use white. I used a fresh pumpkin for the puree - cut in in half, cleaned it out and microwaved it till soft, then scooped out the insides and used it for the puree. Plus used the seeds for the topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Turned out pretty good, actually, with the following changes: Lite Vanilla yogurt instead of plain, Pumpkin pie FILLING instead of just the puree (has so many spices already in it, which I like, because there is never enough "spice" in any of these recipes), Used all rolled oats instead of flax seed, and I didn't put any oats or seeds on top. Lastly, I cooked at 350 for 20 minutes then 400 for 6 more. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraellen225

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
i did not make this recipe as is. I replaced anything whole wheat with whole oat flower, oat bran for the flax seed meal, left out the raisins and added the walnuts and chocolate chips. THEY ARE GRRRREEEAAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
These are absolutely fantastic! The only change I made was to use honey instead of molasses. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JeffNie
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I was out of molasses, so I used dark honey. I also cut back on the cloves a little, and did 1/3 C each of pepitas, walnuts, and regular raisins instead of 1/2 raisins 1/2 walnuts. ABSOLUTELY SPECTACULAR MUFFINS. Perfect combo of dense/fluffy. Moist, not too sweet, great (!!) texture. Ever wonder why butter exists? It exists to be put on these muffins. Ups the fat content, but wow. Even more spectacular, should be illegal. Worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeffNie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tantuc
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I baked these muffins with the following changes: reduced cloves to 1/4tsp, omitted brown sugar, used non-fat greek yougurt, increased apple sauce to 1/2c, added 1/2c pumpkin seeds into the dough instead of walnuts. The muffins turned out moderately moist, mildly sweet, slightly chewy, packed with good-for-you ingredients. I'm trying to feed my kids low sugar food, so these worked purfectly. I'll be baking them again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States