Spiced Pumpkin Molasses Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
OK, I really wanted to like these muffins. They have healthy ingredients and are fun to make. But, the taste did not appeal to me and my family! I made the first batch, exactly as the recipe said and after one bite did not eat them. A couple of weeks later I thought I must have made an error somewhere, so darn if I didn't make them again. This is a lot of preparation work folks! This time they were a little dry ( I overcooked them to get to the point where an inserted toothpick came out clean) but the real problem was the clove flavor- way too strong. I would leave this out. Second thing- the pumpkin seeds are tough as nails! Why put these on there? Anyway, my very non-picky family didn't finish even one muffin. My opinon, I know some reviewers liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marvelousmike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This is a good muffin...definitely more like a breakfast muffin than a "treat" muffin. Good, healthy ingredients. Great with peanut butter on them! I didn't make it exactly as stated, instead of adding nuts and raisins, I added a little more oatmeal. Also, I didn't have plain yogurt, so I used vanilla and reduced the brown sugar and eliminated the vanilla extract. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I used whole wheat pastry flour in place of the AP, but kept everything else the same until I actually made the muffins, then I made them into large muffins, so I got 8 instead of 12 and I baked them for 20 minutes at 375. The kitchen smelled so good and the muffins lived up to the smell. Moist and almost guilt free. Thanks, Ash we'll be having these many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
These muffins are delicious and healthy, but they do take some time to prepare. I used a combination of mostly honey and part maple syrup to replace the refined sugar. I also used wheat germ instead of flax seed meal because that's what I had in the cupboard. I added slightly more yogurt, since some reviewers said that these muffins were too dry, and just slightly less cloves since some reviewers said they were too spicey. They turned out perfectly, and I think they'd be good with even the full amount of cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Very moist & delish! I cut back brown sugar to 1/4C. & used vanilla yogurt. No oil but extra T. of applesauce & pumpkin. Thanks, love the flax added for health.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I'm madly in love with these!! My kids totally love them too! I made no changes whatsoever because they're amazing as is! If anyone's wondering, with *no extras* (nuts, seeds etc) they are only THREE WEIGHT WATCHER POINTS! Loaded with "filling foods", whole grains.. amazing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarlet begonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Really liked these muffins! They are easy to make, have healthy ingredients and have a fabulous texture! I didn't change a thing to the recipe except that I didn't put the pumpkin seeds on the top. One thing that this recipe should perhaps mention is that it does not work in paper muffin cups! The muffins totally stuck to the paper! Maybe it's just my cups...I was thrown off by the photo. Will make these again! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Wonderful--I think a muffin should be healthy, not a cupcake! Love the whole grain content, and flavor is fabulous! I did add a bit of coarse sugar to dress up the top. Kaye, if you don't use the flax, you may want to add a bit more oil so they won't be dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JeffNie
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I was out of molasses, so I used dark honey. I also cut back on the cloves a little, and did 1/3 C each of pepitas, walnuts, and regular raisins instead of 1/2 raisins 1/2 walnuts. ABSOLUTELY SPECTACULAR MUFFINS. Perfect combo of dense/fluffy. Moist, not too sweet, great (!!) texture. Ever wonder why butter exists? It exists to be put on these muffins. Ups the fat content, but wow. Even more spectacular, should be illegal. Worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeffNie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tantuc
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I baked these muffins with the following changes: reduced cloves to 1/4tsp, omitted brown sugar, used non-fat greek yougurt, increased apple sauce to 1/2c, added 1/2c pumpkin seeds into the dough instead of walnuts. The muffins turned out moderately moist, mildly sweet, slightly chewy, packed with good-for-you ingredients. I'm trying to feed my kids low sugar food, so these worked purfectly. I'll be baking them again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States