Spiced Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I enjoyed this very much. The whole family did. I didn't have chutney or raisins on hand (don't really care for raisins in cooked foods) and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This was FANTASTIC.. I followed this recipe almost to the letter, and the result was an incredibly tasty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Pretty good...the spices are very suble. I made the roast in the crock pot and left it on low for about 8 hours. I increased the broth by one cup, decreased the raisins to a quarter cup and left out the chutney. The gravy was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
I added things at the wrong time, put in too much broth by accident, had to use a mixture of scallions and onion flakes and this was still one of the best roasts I have ever produced. Leftovers were gone by noon the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I wasn't sure about this because of the raisins and I also have a very picky family...but...I got RAVE'S about this roast. I used hot mango chutney as it didn't say which one to use. No leftovers at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I made this roast exactly the way it says. This is now my favorite pot roast recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This is a very good recipe with great flavor. I added baby carrots and potatoes for the last hour and they were wonderful. I used a rump roast & I think it really needed to be cooked longer, it wasn't as tender as I would have liked. I don't have a dutch oven and used a glass bakind dish covered with foil so I don't know if this may have been the reason it wasn't as tender as I would have liked. Other than that it was great! Will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fox!nSox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This is a delicious recipe! Thanks so much for sharing it. I made it with cranberries instead of raisins, and no chutney, and it still turned out amazing and so tender. My whole family was raving about it and now they think I'm an awesome cook. No knives were needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This was soooo good and so easy to make. My two year old gobbled it up and so did we! The meat was very very tender. I used apple pear chutney and followed the recipe to a T. Definitely going into the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
What a roast! Prepared to the recipe and it was delicious and the family asked if we could have it again in a couple days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States