Spiced Pork Chops II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Made it exactly as listed. The "gravy" was very tasty the sweetness of the sherry was the kicker, but I think the pork chops were a little over done. I could have taken them out of the oven about 10 minutes early and after the rest they would have been perfect. As for the flour I think it had a lot of seasoning that wasn't really tasted, basically anything under a teaspoon would be omitted. Both my DH and BIL sopped up the sauce with some mashed potatoes left over from Thanksgiving. I will definitely make again with the above changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jojo13

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This was not my favorite. Too many conflicting flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I made this the other evening and it was delicious. Instead of the mustard powder (which I don't have at the moment) I coated the chops with a little prepared mustard and I didn't have the garlic powder or celery salt. I did have an asian pear that needed to be eaten so I cut it into reasonable sized wedges and added them to the baking. When I made the sauce I tossed them in and instead of cream I used a couple of tbs of Greek yogurt. It was probably a little more tangy than with cream, but with the asian pear added, I felt it went very well. While I realize I adapted the recipe to allow for what I didn't have in the house (making this was a very late-in-the-day decision), it was still amazing and my husband raved about it for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
This is amazing! Hubby couldn't stop eating! The sauce really makes the dish so don't skip this step. Its delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Really good and flavorful. Nice blend of spices. We are not huge gravy fans, so I skipped that step. I didn't have cooking sherry in the house, so I subbed in chicken broth. Cooking the chops in the liquid kept them nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I had trouble w/the sauce being waaaaay too thick...not actually a sauce, more of a lump, so I would suggest not using ALL of the leftover flour mix....trust your judgement & only use a bit & toss the rest(there was at least 1/2 of the flour mix leftover). I wasn't exactly impressed w/this at first but found myself going back for another bite & another bite & another bite. Leftovers were not good so eat it up fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
The combination of seasonings were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
The two reasons I gave this recipe 4 out of 5 stars is because of the following: 1. It takes quite a bit of work to prepare. 2. The flavor is somewhere between boring and delicious. ( so, I guess, just tasty enough to justify cooking it ) To clarify, the recipe tastes great and I intend to cook it again, I just feel the work put in isn't worth the payoff. I will say the recipe when followed to a T will produce the perfectly moist and complete pork chops, which I enthusiastically applaud. The recipe does NOT make super spicy pork chops, which is a good thing! My grandmother has issues with spicy foods, and she enjoyed them fully! Personally I've always had a problem with pork chops simply because of how over-done and dry people tend to cook them! These porch chops were moist and evenly cooked. It uses a decent amount of Sherry wine, and this wine can be expensive. What you do use is put to good use, however. I suggest making this meal for a small family of people you know, and not necessarially for a visiting date, or a holiday event. I will use this recipe again in the future, and desperately find something else to zest the meal up...maybe limes. This recipe has amazing potential and is on a razor-thin line of being amazing. Thank you for this treat of a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vincent J. Marotta III

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This recipe takes pork chops to another level. This will definitely be added to my list of good home cooking! We ate it for lunch and dinner...every last bite! It was very easy to make, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cajun Spiced Pork Chops

These tasty chops make an easy weeknight dinner with spices you have on hand.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States