Spiced Plum Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This was wonderful - a great mix of flavors! I didn't have just pineapple juice but I did have a can of crushed pineapple so I got as much juice from that as I could and then just used enough crushed pineapple to make 3/4 cup. Worked great! This would be a wonderful recipe for a pork roast, pork chops, etc. I was worried there would not be enough liquid, but the plums cooked down quickly and it was just fine for 3-4 pork chops. If I made this again with a larger cut of meat like a roast, I would probably have to add more liquid - maybe apple juice? We had leftovers so I shredded up the rest of the pork chops and then mixed a bunch of the plummy sauce into it - AMAZING. Better than the pork chops alone. Can't wait for plummy pork sandwiches tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Great recipe! Will make again! Cooked in the crock pot for 2 hours on high and 4 hours on low. Pork chops came out tender and flavorful...this is a great fall dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This was absolutely fabulous. Make sure to spoon out all of the plum/juice mixture and serve it over the meat. Otherwise, the meat can be a bit dry. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Really good, used pluots because I had them. Smelled excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
My family loved this recipe. We picked the plums off of our tree and substituted the pineapple juice for crushed pineapple. We put it all in the crockpot on low for about 6 hours. Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandra Stephen Palmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This was delicious and smelled so good while it was cooking! I doubled the plums and reduced the cooking time to about 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Good but not phenomenal. A nice way to use plums that are going bad. Still, a bit too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This was a perfect way to use some leftover plums!My family never likes fruit on thier meat but they LOVED this!!!i didnt use a slow cooker so I put it on low (250)in the oven for 2 1/2hrs...covered!It was alittle dry but the flavor was wonderful and the plums gave it alil juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
After reading the reviews left by others, I decided to use boneless pork butt steaks, as they do not dry out as quickly as boneless pork loin chops. I cooked the recipe for 3 hours on high, and it was done perfectly - juicy and tender. My family liked the meat, but they don't like runny sauce. So I tried straining the juices, skimming the fat off and thickening them to make a sauce to serve over rice. I didn't get it thick enough, and so that part was kind of disappointing. Next time I would try using 4 TBSP flour to thicken it, instead of 2. I also used less vinegar - 2 tsp, and I used red wine vinegar, because I thought that flavor would go better. I know it is not fair to rate a recipe when you don't make it exactly as posted, but I thought these changes might be useful to someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
It was good. I liked it, and my wife liked the pork - but she's not big on cook fruits. Fairly simple to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cajun Spiced Pork Chops

These tasty chops make an easy weeknight dinner with spices you have on hand.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States