Spiced Plum Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This was wonderful - a great mix of flavors! I didn't have just pineapple juice but I did have a can of crushed pineapple so I got as much juice from that as I could and then just used enough crushed pineapple to make 3/4 cup. Worked great! This would be a wonderful recipe for a pork roast, pork chops, etc. I was worried there would not be enough liquid, but the plums cooked down quickly and it was just fine for 3-4 pork chops. If I made this again with a larger cut of meat like a roast, I would probably have to add more liquid - maybe apple juice? We had leftovers so I shredded up the rest of the pork chops and then mixed a bunch of the plummy sauce into it - AMAZING. Better than the pork chops alone. Can't wait for plummy pork sandwiches tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This was absolutely fabulous. Make sure to spoon out all of the plum/juice mixture and serve it over the meat. Otherwise, the meat can be a bit dry. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
After reading the reviews left by others, I decided to use boneless pork butt steaks, as they do not dry out as quickly as boneless pork loin chops. I cooked the recipe for 3 hours on high, and it was done perfectly - juicy and tender. My family liked the meat, but they don't like runny sauce. So I tried straining the juices, skimming the fat off and thickening them to make a sauce to serve over rice. I didn't get it thick enough, and so that part was kind of disappointing. Next time I would try using 4 TBSP flour to thicken it, instead of 2. I also used less vinegar - 2 tsp, and I used red wine vinegar, because I thought that flavor would go better. I know it is not fair to rate a recipe when you don't make it exactly as posted, but I thought these changes might be useful to someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Flavor packed recipe and what an easy dish to prepare. The crock pot does all the hard work! I read the other reviewers comments about the liquid and decided to use 1 cup of pineapple juice. I also added 1 tbsp of marsala wine with the balsamic vinegar. At the mid point, I added one small onion, chopped and toward the end of the cooking time I added three minced garlic cloves. I also used fresh ginger instead of powdered. The pork chops melted in our mouths, it was so tender! And we have enough left over to do something like pulled pork sandwiches, like another reviewer wrote about. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
If I was able, I'd give this recipe a 3.5, but I'm leaning in favor of a 4 because there is more positive to say than negative. As other reviewers have said, 8 hours is way too long to cook the pork chops. I cooked mine for 6 and for the most part the meat was tender (if a side of the chop is sticking up over the cooking liquid, be sure to turn it frequently to prevent it from drying out). I was a little surprised at how mild a flavor the cooking liquid imparted on the pork chops. I was expecting to taste more of a plum flavor, but it hardly came through, which isn't a complaint as the spices tasted very good with the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Everyone was really looking forward to this recipe, including me. Unfortunately we were all disappointed. Most times I check reviews before I make a recipe, this time I didn't get the chance and I'm sorry I didn't. I didn't cook these a second longer than the 8 hours called for in the recipe and the pork chops were so dry, it was unbelievable. The flavours did not turn out as hoped. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene Bucci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This was delicious and smelled so good while it was cooking! I doubled the plums and reduced the cooking time to about 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and did not like the results at all. I thought at the time that the balsamic vinegar was too much. It was, it overpowered all the other flavors, which was disappointing. Also the pork chops were very dry. I have never had this happen when cooking them in the slow cooker before. We didn't even keep the leftovers, and that's almost a sin in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
It was good. I liked it, and my wife liked the pork - but she's not big on cook fruits. Fairly simple to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
My family loved this recipe. We picked the plums off of our tree and substituted the pineapple juice for crushed pineapple. We put it all in the crockpot on low for about 6 hours. Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovelyfamilyofmine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Spiced Pork Chops

These tasty chops make an easy weeknight dinner with spices you have on hand.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States