Spiced Plum Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This was absolutely fabulous. Make sure to spoon out all of the plum/juice mixture and serve it over the meat. Otherwise, the meat can be a bit dry. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This was wonderful - a great mix of flavors! I didn't have just pineapple juice but I did have a can of crushed pineapple so I got as much juice from that as I could and then just used enough crushed pineapple to make 3/4 cup. Worked great! This would be a wonderful recipe for a pork roast, pork chops, etc. I was worried there would not be enough liquid, but the plums cooked down quickly and it was just fine for 3-4 pork chops. If I made this again with a larger cut of meat like a roast, I would probably have to add more liquid - maybe apple juice? We had leftovers so I shredded up the rest of the pork chops and then mixed a bunch of the plummy sauce into it - AMAZING. Better than the pork chops alone. Can't wait for plummy pork sandwiches tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
3 1/2 star. Different, good, meat a little dry and only cooked for 5 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Great recipe! Will make again! Cooked in the crock pot for 2 hours on high and 4 hours on low. Pork chops came out tender and flavorful...this is a great fall dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Flavor packed recipe and what an easy dish to prepare. The crock pot does all the hard work! I read the other reviewers comments about the liquid and decided to use 1 cup of pineapple juice. I also added 1 tbsp of marsala wine with the balsamic vinegar. At the mid point, I added one small onion, chopped and toward the end of the cooking time I added three minced garlic cloves. I also used fresh ginger instead of powdered. The pork chops melted in our mouths, it was so tender! And we have enough left over to do something like pulled pork sandwiches, like another reviewer wrote about. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and did not like the results at all. I thought at the time that the balsamic vinegar was too much. It was, it overpowered all the other flavors, which was disappointing. Also the pork chops were very dry. I have never had this happen when cooking them in the slow cooker before. We didn't even keep the leftovers, and that's almost a sin in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I actually really enjoyed this recipe, though the meat wasn't as tender as I would have liked. I used a full cup of pineapple juice and an additional plum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ldanelis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Shuniah, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
My husband liked it. I really wanted to like it too but didn't. It sounded really good but something just wasn't right. It lacked something. I don't know what. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
From experieince I thought the cooking time was way too long and I see others have suggested the meat was dry. I cooked for 6 hours on low and the meat was fabulously tender. Unfortunately, we didn't like the flavours - too much cinnamon for my taste and a bit sweet too - but even without that, it's not a dish I'd do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buzz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
If I was able, I'd give this recipe a 3.5, but I'm leaning in favor of a 4 because there is more positive to say than negative. As other reviewers have said, 8 hours is way too long to cook the pork chops. I cooked mine for 6 and for the most part the meat was tender (if a side of the chop is sticking up over the cooking liquid, be sure to turn it frequently to prevent it from drying out). I was a little surprised at how mild a flavor the cooking liquid imparted on the pork chops. I was expecting to taste more of a plum flavor, but it hardly came through, which isn't a complaint as the spices tasted very good with the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Spiced Pork Chops

These tasty chops make an easy weeknight dinner with spices you have on hand.

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States