Spiced Plum Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
My Dad LOVED this. Plums were over ripe so I added a little extra flour and no nuts. Very Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
14-year-old daughter loved this bread, even though none of the kids ate the canned plums for lunch. (This is why I tried to find the recipe in the first place.) Didn't put in nuts, but otherwise followed the recipe. Definitely will use this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Wahpeton, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Grandin, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This makes a really great bread. But why are we peeling the plums? I pitted them, cut them in quarters and pulsed them in my processor 'til they were chopped. They worked fine, and we still had the extra nutrition in the skins. I did add 1/4 cup applesauce as suggested by previous cooks, since the batter did seem a bit dry. Loved the extra clove flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I just made this bread today, using pitted prunes - it came out perfect, with a few changes, I reversed the amount of spices, less cloves and more cinnamon, and reduced the amount of sugar; also added a good 1/3 cup of milk and replaced the walnuts with pecans (the reason being that I have ruined too many recipes using walnuts since they almost always taste stale. The bread was chewy and more than sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
My family loved this bread. The batter was a bit dry so I added 1/4 cup of milk and it turned out great. I made it 2 nights in a row with plums off our plum tree. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I am not a dessert person, but I love to bake. I made this twice, once at work and once for my boyfriends family. Everyone loved it!! The second time, my boyfriend wanted pecans instead of the walnuts and 1 cup of sugar instead of 3/4 cup. Needless to say, this is a great little bread!! Easy to make too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brierlynn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ballston Spa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
SO delicious. I agree with the other reviwers that the batter was too dry. I added about 1/2 cup of milk and 1/2 cup of applesauce. Wonderful! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Good but not particularly great. You couldn't taste the prunes/plums at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
My co-worker brought in a huge box of plums from his tree and I decided to make some bread. Overall this is wonderful recipe and I think works best with plums that are not completely soft. I used a potatoe peeler to peel these them and it helped alot. Okay my experience with this is you can't get it wrong. On a whim I decided to make this, I didn't have enought honey so I added a some sugar. Didn't have enought sugar so I used splenda for baking for part of it and didn't have walnuts so I used pecans and the batter was dry so I added another egg and a little bit of milk to make the right consistency for bread(yes it was a cook on the whim because i wanted to but didn't want to go to the store). This bread came out wonderful, moist in the middle and the sweetness &tartness of the plums was a nice touch. Very good and as you can see hard to mess up LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chikee
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Very good, however I did add extra cinnamon and some applesauce since the batter looked awfully dry. Nice and sweet, thanks much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States