Spiced Plum Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
My co-worker brought in a huge box of plums from his tree and I decided to make some bread. Overall this is wonderful recipe and I think works best with plums that are not completely soft. I used a potatoe peeler to peel these them and it helped alot. Okay my experience with this is you can't get it wrong. On a whim I decided to make this, I didn't have enought honey so I added a some sugar. Didn't have enought sugar so I used splenda for baking for part of it and didn't have walnuts so I used pecans and the batter was dry so I added another egg and a little bit of milk to make the right consistency for bread(yes it was a cook on the whim because i wanted to but didn't want to go to the store). This bread came out wonderful, moist in the middle and the sweetness &tartness of the plums was a nice touch. Very good and as you can see hard to mess up LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
I rate this with 4 stars after I added an additional egg and about 1/4 cup of milk. Before the addition of these ingredients, the batter was far to thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This makes a really great bread. But why are we peeling the plums? I pitted them, cut them in quarters and pulsed them in my processor 'til they were chopped. They worked fine, and we still had the extra nutrition in the skins. I did add 1/4 cup applesauce as suggested by previous cooks, since the batter did seem a bit dry. Loved the extra clove flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I just made this bread today, using pitted prunes - it came out perfect, with a few changes, I reversed the amount of spices, less cloves and more cinnamon, and reduced the amount of sugar; also added a good 1/3 cup of milk and replaced the walnuts with pecans (the reason being that I have ruined too many recipes using walnuts since they almost always taste stale. The bread was chewy and more than sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
The plums have been changed from fresh to canned to more closely match the submitted recipe. Fresh, firm plums do not have the moisture needed for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
14-year-old daughter loved this bread, even though none of the kids ate the canned plums for lunch. (This is why I tried to find the recipe in the first place.) Didn't put in nuts, but otherwise followed the recipe. Definitely will use this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Wahpeton, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Grandin, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
SO delicious. I agree with the other reviwers that the batter was too dry. I added about 1/2 cup of milk and 1/2 cup of applesauce. Wonderful! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Not a bad bread but I think the cooking time is too long. I used a glass loaf pan and the outside browned way too much. Will def try again and will cover the top to keep from browning so much and reduce the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Very yummy bread!...I rated it 4 stars only because I ended up adding about 1/3 cup of yogurt to the batter because it was so thick it almost needed kneading! It was a great way to use up those leftover plums that had been lurking at the back of my counter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butte, Montana, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I had a can of plums on hand and had no idea what to do with them, so after looking up "canned plums" on the ingredient-only tool I found this recipe. I wish I had looked up just "plums" (as I did later) because there seem to be a good variety of plum bread recipes that look better than this one. While I loved the spiciness of the cloves, the batter was far too thick and dry before I took others' advice and added 1/4 cup milk and an extra egg, and the cooking time called for dried out my loaf and made the edges burn, even though I took it out of the oven ten minutes early. I probably won't make this again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sicily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States