Spiced Plum Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
I rate this with 4 stars after I added an additional egg and about 1/4 cup of milk. Before the addition of these ingredients, the batter was far to thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
This is a great recipe! It appears to be a thick dough, but bakes up great with a slightly crunchy top. The only bad part was how long it took me to peel the plums (which came from the back yard). It was so tasty that I made another loaf for the neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
I was disappointed in this bread. It just tastes kind of flat and isn't nearly good enough to justify how long it took to peel and chop the fruit! I think the lack of fat and salt in the recipe explains the flatness of the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
This was a good recipe for extra plums. It was a bit too spicy for my family so I only used 1/2 of the spices. It came out perfect. Thanks for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Very yummy bread!...I rated it 4 stars only because I ended up adding about 1/3 cup of yogurt to the batter because it was so thick it almost needed kneading! It was a great way to use up those leftover plums that had been lurking at the back of my counter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butte, Montana, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
This is a great breakfast bread and really quick to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
Very good. I agree, a great breakfast bread. A great way to use up over ripe plums. I made some substitutions, I didn't have 1/2 cup of honey so used 1/4 cup, I substituted nutmeg for cloves and used 2 eggs and 1/4 cup of milk like other reviewers. A very good bread, the plums add a great texture to the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Not a bad bread but I think the cooking time is too long. I used a glass loaf pan and the outside browned way too much. Will def try again and will cover the top to keep from browning so much and reduce the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chikee
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Very good, however I did add extra cinnamon and some applesauce since the batter looked awfully dry. Nice and sweet, thanks much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
My co-worker brought in a huge box of plums from his tree and I decided to make some bread. Overall this is wonderful recipe and I think works best with plums that are not completely soft. I used a potatoe peeler to peel these them and it helped alot. Okay my experience with this is you can't get it wrong. On a whim I decided to make this, I didn't have enought honey so I added a some sugar. Didn't have enought sugar so I used splenda for baking for part of it and didn't have walnuts so I used pecans and the batter was dry so I added another egg and a little bit of milk to make the right consistency for bread(yes it was a cook on the whim because i wanted to but didn't want to go to the store). This bread came out wonderful, moist in the middle and the sweetness &tartness of the plums was a nice touch. Very good and as you can see hard to mess up LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States