Spiced Plum Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
My Dad LOVED this. Plums were over ripe so I added a little extra flour and no nuts. Very Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
14-year-old daughter loved this bread, even though none of the kids ate the canned plums for lunch. (This is why I tried to find the recipe in the first place.) Didn't put in nuts, but otherwise followed the recipe. Definitely will use this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Wahpeton, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Grandin, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This makes a really great bread. But why are we peeling the plums? I pitted them, cut them in quarters and pulsed them in my processor 'til they were chopped. They worked fine, and we still had the extra nutrition in the skins. I did add 1/4 cup applesauce as suggested by previous cooks, since the batter did seem a bit dry. Loved the extra clove flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I just made this bread today, using pitted prunes - it came out perfect, with a few changes, I reversed the amount of spices, less cloves and more cinnamon, and reduced the amount of sugar; also added a good 1/3 cup of milk and replaced the walnuts with pecans (the reason being that I have ruined too many recipes using walnuts since they almost always taste stale. The bread was chewy and more than sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
My family loved this bread. The batter was a bit dry so I added 1/4 cup of milk and it turned out great. I made it 2 nights in a row with plums off our plum tree. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I am not a dessert person, but I love to bake. I made this twice, once at work and once for my boyfriends family. Everyone loved it!! The second time, my boyfriend wanted pecans instead of the walnuts and 1 cup of sugar instead of 3/4 cup. Needless to say, this is a great little bread!! Easy to make too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brierlynn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ballston Spa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
SO delicious. I agree with the other reviwers that the batter was too dry. I added about 1/2 cup of milk and 1/2 cup of applesauce. Wonderful! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Good but not particularly great. You couldn't taste the prunes/plums at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
My co-worker brought in a huge box of plums from his tree and I decided to make some bread. Overall this is wonderful recipe and I think works best with plums that are not completely soft. I used a potatoe peeler to peel these them and it helped alot. Okay my experience with this is you can't get it wrong. On a whim I decided to make this, I didn't have enought honey so I added a some sugar. Didn't have enought sugar so I used splenda for baking for part of it and didn't have walnuts so I used pecans and the batter was dry so I added another egg and a little bit of milk to make the right consistency for bread(yes it was a cook on the whim because i wanted to but didn't want to go to the store). This bread came out wonderful, moist in the middle and the sweetness &tartness of the plums was a nice touch. Very good and as you can see hard to mess up LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chikee
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Very good, however I did add extra cinnamon and some applesauce since the batter looked awfully dry. Nice and sweet, thanks much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States