Spiced Pickled Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
I used this recipe to can over half the beets in my garden. I think the pickling mixture is perfect and wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
I used fresh beets from my garden, steamed them until tender, then put them in a large bowl of cold water, and had no pink fingers by peeling them underwater! Otherwise my hands turn beet red! I also used one of those rippled french fry cutters to slice them - a simple hand held tool. I canned some in pint jars (made 4 pints), and will enjoy beets in the dead of winter. This recipe is tasty- just the right spice mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe -- it reminds me of my grandmother's homemade pickled beets. I used fresh beets, boiled about 15 min, then peeled, and I added some hardboiled eggs. I marinated everything for a couple of days to make sure it really got that flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Absolutely delicious! I wouldn't change a thing on this recipe except I continued cooking the mixture about 1 or 2 minutes after adding the onion to soften a bit. I will make this again and share the recipe with pride.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Soooooo easy! I think I did this in under 10 minutes. BTW - 2 1/2 cups is 2 14.5 oz cans worth of sliced beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
This is an excellent recipe for beet lovers. I added a cinnamon stick to the recipe. I also add hard boiled eggs along with the beets and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
I don't think I have ever eaten beets before. My avid gardener Aunt brought me some fresh from her garden and I made this recipe. YUM! I know the recipe calls for canned beets, but I needed to use mine! I found another recipe describing cooking beets (boil for 45 minutes, rinse in cold water so the skins peel right off...which they did!) Be sure to save some of the water from boiling the beets to serve as the beet juice needed in recipe. I had red all over my kitchen...new appreciation for the term "beet red!" but it cleaned up easily and the beets taste surprisingly great. Kind of exotic tasting with the spices. Thanks for opening up my thinking to beets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
These are delicious! Personally, I double up on the spices, but they definitely get better and more flavorsome the longer you leave them! The onion tastes absolutely fantastic too. Thanks so much, Bea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2001
Excellent taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allegra901

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
Really easy and great tasting. I ate a whole bowl like it was candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States