Spiced Pickled Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
This is as good a recipe as you will find for pickled beets. I too cooked it long enough for the onions to soften as they become part of the beets. I think I will also add a cinnamon stick in the next batch. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
I used fresh beets from my garden, steamed them until tender, then put them in a large bowl of cold water, and had no pink fingers by peeling them underwater! Otherwise my hands turn beet red! I also used one of those rippled french fry cutters to slice them - a simple hand held tool. I canned some in pint jars (made 4 pints), and will enjoy beets in the dead of winter. This recipe is tasty- just the right spice mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
These tasted like Mom used to make! Loved it and would not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Absolutely delicious! I wouldn't change a thing on this recipe except I continued cooking the mixture about 1 or 2 minutes after adding the onion to soften a bit. I will make this again and share the recipe with pride.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe -- it reminds me of my grandmother's homemade pickled beets. I used fresh beets, boiled about 15 min, then peeled, and I added some hardboiled eggs. I marinated everything for a couple of days to make sure it really got that flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
Really easy and great tasting. I ate a whole bowl like it was candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
I used this recipe to can over half the beets in my garden. I think the pickling mixture is perfect and wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
This is an excellent recipe for beet lovers. I added a cinnamon stick to the recipe. I also add hard boiled eggs along with the beets and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2001
Excellent taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allegra901

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States