Spiced Pickled Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2001
Excellent taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allegra901

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
This is an excellent recipe for beet lovers. I added a cinnamon stick to the recipe. I also add hard boiled eggs along with the beets and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
I used this recipe to can over half the beets in my garden. I think the pickling mixture is perfect and wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
Really easy and great tasting. I ate a whole bowl like it was candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe -- it reminds me of my grandmother's homemade pickled beets. I used fresh beets, boiled about 15 min, then peeled, and I added some hardboiled eggs. I marinated everything for a couple of days to make sure it really got that flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Absolutely delicious! I wouldn't change a thing on this recipe except I continued cooking the mixture about 1 or 2 minutes after adding the onion to soften a bit. I will make this again and share the recipe with pride.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
These tasted like Mom used to make! Loved it and would not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
I used fresh beets from my garden, steamed them until tender, then put them in a large bowl of cold water, and had no pink fingers by peeling them underwater! Otherwise my hands turn beet red! I also used one of those rippled french fry cutters to slice them - a simple hand held tool. I canned some in pint jars (made 4 pints), and will enjoy beets in the dead of winter. This recipe is tasty- just the right spice mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
This is as good a recipe as you will find for pickled beets. I too cooked it long enough for the onions to soften as they become part of the beets. I think I will also add a cinnamon stick in the next batch. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
Delicious and very easy! I cooked beets from my garden and then followed the recipe. My family devoured them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States