Spiced Pickled Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
No one in my family cared for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This was very good. I cooked fresh beets, reserving half a cup of juice, and followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
These are delicious! Personally, I double up on the spices, but they definitely get better and more flavorsome the longer you leave them! The onion tastes absolutely fantastic too. Thanks so much, Bea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Soooooo easy! I think I did this in under 10 minutes. BTW - 2 1/2 cups is 2 14.5 oz cans worth of sliced beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Terrific! I used fresh beets which I cooked for 25 minutes, reserving the liquid for the recipe. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
this recipe is delicious- I used 4 tsp. pkgd. pickling spice instead of spices in recipe and turned out great. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitman, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Jensen Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
I don't think I have ever eaten beets before. My avid gardener Aunt brought me some fresh from her garden and I made this recipe. YUM! I know the recipe calls for canned beets, but I needed to use mine! I found another recipe describing cooking beets (boil for 45 minutes, rinse in cold water so the skins peel right off...which they did!) Be sure to save some of the water from boiling the beets to serve as the beet juice needed in recipe. I had red all over my kitchen...new appreciation for the term "beet red!" but it cleaned up easily and the beets taste surprisingly great. Kind of exotic tasting with the spices. Thanks for opening up my thinking to beets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
Yummy! I use a spoonful of packaged "mixed pickling spices" in the vinegar mixture instead of the separate spices, it is the perfect blend for pickled beets. The longer you marinate, the better it gets, so make a double batch! Small whole canned beets work just as well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
Super easy and great tasting salad. Easily change spices to suit your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
Delicious and very easy! I cooked beets from my garden and then followed the recipe. My family devoured them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeAtLastOR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States