Spiced Pickled Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This recipe was yummy. I used fresh beets from my garden (saved and used some cooking liquid), I also added 2 cinnamon sticks. I let the beets and onion cook for just a few minutes in the pickling juice, and let them chill/marinate overnight. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
FABULOUS! Just like my mom used to make. I added more vinegar to taste, but it was very good with the original recipe also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
It definaty sets you up with the MAIN BASE that delivers better than store bought. I left the last star open for yourself to add extra flavors which I did with fresh ground coriender and such for extra flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I gave this 5 stars even though I made some changes. It is such a great base recipe. After reading the reviews, I added 1/4t cinnamon, doubled the "pickling juice" ingredients, and refrigerated it over night. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I needed a quick Christmas gift for someone who loves beets and is diabetic. These were great!! I did use artificial sugar( Splenda etc), I put in a pretty jar with a gold lid and it is the prettiest gift.Oh, they tasted great to. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Ewing-Bennett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I've tried more than a handful of pickled beet recipes, but this is the one to which I always return. Like other reviewers before me, however, I do double the whole spices and tuck a cinnamon stick in for good measure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Wow! These are fantastic! I didn't change a thing. And so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I can't say enough about how fabulous these are. By FAR the best pickled beets ever. So much more depth of flavor than plain vinegar/sugar/onion versions, and so easy. I was out of whole cloves, so I used a tiny bit of ground (it goes a long way, so be restrained) and it worked just fine. I deliberately used whole beets that I cut in half, and let it marinade 48 hours, and it was perfect. Wish I could give it 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Very good and easy to prepare. Not quite enough spice taste so next time I will add more cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
A guy at work gave my husband some fresh beets from his garden. I had NO idea what to do with them. But I tried this and another recipe from this site, and both were excellent. I'm not a big fan of pickled beets, but these were delish! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Newell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Peppers

See how to make pickled peppers in a delicious and versatile vinegar brine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States