Spiced Pickled Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
It definaty sets you up with the MAIN BASE that delivers better than store bought. I left the last star open for yourself to add extra flavors which I did with fresh ground coriender and such for extra flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I gave this 5 stars even though I made some changes. It is such a great base recipe. After reading the reviews, I added 1/4t cinnamon, doubled the "pickling juice" ingredients, and refrigerated it over night. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I needed a quick Christmas gift for someone who loves beets and is diabetic. These were great!! I did use artificial sugar( Splenda etc), I put in a pretty jar with a gold lid and it is the prettiest gift.Oh, they tasted great to. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I've tried more than a handful of pickled beet recipes, but this is the one to which I always return. Like other reviewers before me, however, I do double the whole spices and tuck a cinnamon stick in for good measure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Wow! These are fantastic! I didn't change a thing. And so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I can't say enough about how fabulous these are. By FAR the best pickled beets ever. So much more depth of flavor than plain vinegar/sugar/onion versions, and so easy. I was out of whole cloves, so I used a tiny bit of ground (it goes a long way, so be restrained) and it worked just fine. I deliberately used whole beets that I cut in half, and let it marinade 48 hours, and it was perfect. Wish I could give it 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Very good and easy to prepare. Not quite enough spice taste so next time I will add more cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
A guy at work gave my husband some fresh beets from his garden. I had NO idea what to do with them. But I tried this and another recipe from this site, and both were excellent. I'm not a big fan of pickled beets, but these were delish! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Newell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
These made beets edible, but I think I can find an even better beet recipe out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I forgot I had saved this recipe because I have memorized it. This is a staple at our house. Love it just the way it is written, except I leave out the onions since my family doesn't care for onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States