Spiced Persimmon Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lilboo
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Really good stuff! I made a few slight changes, and it came out delicious. Used about 16 persimmons (all I had). They were frozen so I just let them sit for a bit. Washed and then cut the tops off. Put them in the slow cooker and set it to low for 10 hours. Then mashed them with a potato masher and then used an immersion blender. (Could have skipped the potato masher part but at first I thought I'd want a more chunky butter, but after mashing I could tell I was wrong and would want a smoother texture). Added a bunch of cinnamon. Added a nice helping of nutmeg and vanilla bean paste. Added a bit of ginger and mace. Then added a couple good glugs of pure maple syrup. Let it cook for 4-6 hours with the lid off, stirring occasionally. It is much darker than the picture I posted shows. It is wonderful warm, room temp, and cold. But slightly warm is our favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I've made this recipe twice since Thanksgiving using persimmons from my father's tree, the seeds of which originate from Bari, Italy his home town. The results are excellent if you like apple butters and fig compotes. I'd recommend lightly toasting slices of brick oven bakery bread, spreading with goat cheese and topping with a layer of the persimmon butter. It's truly delicious. One thing I did differently was to further concentrate the butter by placing it in a shallow baking dish at 275 degrees for an hour or so, stirring periodically. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
24 persimmons got me a little less than 3 pints. I didn't cook in the crockpot as long (I had to go to bed!) but even at 6 hours, it was good. I used honey instead of agave (1:1 exchange) and went ahead and canned it in a water bath (boiling water for 15 min). I didn't process my not full pint and just put it in the fridge. This morning I had it with some yummy toast and I went a little weak in the knees it was soooo good. A rich, fall flavored little treat. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I was a bit skeptical about this recipe when I first read it but I had a lot of ripe persimmons and wanted to get rid of them as easily and tastily as possible. I followed this recipe to a t and it came out perfectly! The taste and texture is phenomenal, not to mention it's healthy! Thank you for sharing such a delicious treat. I could grab a spoon and eat it straight out of the jar, it is that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I just finished making this, and it is absolutely DIVINE! My first time using persimmons, and I'm seriously hooked. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs.j.jimenez
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I skipped the puree step as I like my jams to be a little chunkier. It was too dry though, I'm not sure it would have even pureed to the right consistency. Twenty persimmons made 5 half pint jars and I did process them in the water bath. I used organic white sugar instead of the agave syrup. Total cook time was 2 hours on high then 5 on low covered and 1.5 on low uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I had a whole bunch of persimmons collected from the yard, and had no idea what to do with them. Thankfully, I found this recipe and now I've got a few mason jars of the stuff. At my wife's request, I cut way down on the cinnamon, using maybe 1/2 of the amount listed, and the spicing at that amount is quite adequate in my opinion. As to other changes: I didn't have any agave syrup, so I substituted honey and it worked well. I also threw in about 3/4 teaspoon kosher salt along with the cinnamon and cloves. I have never had persimmon butter before. It reminds me strongly of pumpkin pie filling--making me think I may turn one of these jars into a persimmon pie for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
For a first time, everyonel oved this recipe. After it sits a ay or two it is delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This is amazing. We have persimmon trees and this is my favorite thing to with all that fruit. I have family requesting this. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Yummmmm, I just did this in a pot on my stove top. Kept an eye on it, super low heat, stirring often until it was thick and deeeeeeeeeelicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States