Spiced Persimmon Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Cindy, thanks for simplifying a long labor-of-love process. I can tell by the ingred list and the process that this tastes rich and wonderful with a good spreading consistency. Next time my friend's mom picks her tree I will make this! BTW, you can boiling-water bath your filled jars & give your product a longer shelf life. After filling jars to w/in 1/4-in, wipe rims clean, and secure lids & bands. Put jars in a lrg pot of boiling water (1- to 2-in coverage over jar tops) with a little rack on the bottom. Bring water to boil, cover, time boiling for 5-10 min, remove jars, set them on a cooling rack for 1-3 hrs. After lids "pop" store jars in a cool, dry place, (not the fridge) and wait 14-21 days before use (check for color changes). Unopened product will last up to 1 yr; refrigerate after opening & it'll last as long as it usually does, maybe a little longer! Happy Cooking and Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
It's time to start thinking about using this recipe again... the persimmons are almost ready here in San Diego! Every year I remember how much I enjoy this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Wonderful recipe!! We have so many persimmons from my grandmother's tree, this was a great way to use them up. I used up the persimmons that had become over-ripe, and they were delicious in this jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Yummmmm, I just did this in a pot on my stove top. Kept an eye on it, super low heat, stirring often until it was thick and deeeeeeeeeelicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This is amazing. We have persimmon trees and this is my favorite thing to with all that fruit. I have family requesting this. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
The aroma that comes with cooking is so wonderful not to say anything about how good it is on fresh bread. Will pass it foward
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dusty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I had a whole bunch of persimmons collected from the yard, and had no idea what to do with them. Thankfully, I found this recipe and now I've got a few mason jars of the stuff. At my wife's request, I cut way down on the cinnamon, using maybe 1/2 of the amount listed, and the spicing at that amount is quite adequate in my opinion. As to other changes: I didn't have any agave syrup, so I substituted honey and it worked well. I also threw in about 3/4 teaspoon kosher salt along with the cinnamon and cloves. I have never had persimmon butter before. It reminds me strongly of pumpkin pie filling--making me think I may turn one of these jars into a persimmon pie for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs.j.jimenez
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I skipped the puree step as I like my jams to be a little chunkier. It was too dry though, I'm not sure it would have even pureed to the right consistency. Twenty persimmons made 5 half pint jars and I did process them in the water bath. I used organic white sugar instead of the agave syrup. Total cook time was 2 hours on high then 5 on low covered and 1.5 on low uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I was a bit skeptical about this recipe when I first read it but I had a lot of ripe persimmons and wanted to get rid of them as easily and tastily as possible. I followed this recipe to a t and it came out perfectly! The taste and texture is phenomenal, not to mention it's healthy! Thank you for sharing such a delicious treat. I could grab a spoon and eat it straight out of the jar, it is that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I just finished making this, and it is absolutely DIVINE! My first time using persimmons, and I'm seriously hooked. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States