Spiced Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Have made this recipe numerous times and am finally getting around to rating it. It's my go-to recipe for when I need something sweet yet substantial in my menu, or want to give a from-the-kitchen thank you gift that's a little more sophisticated than cookies (these pecans look really pretty in a nice cellophane or sheer fabric bag tied with ribbon or raffia). I tripled the recipe and served them in foil cupcake liners at my daughter's birthday party and both the adults and kids gobbled them up. The spices are great as written, but I like to add a few dashes of chili powder or cayenne to lend a little spice. I line my baking pans with nonstick foil, bake them at 325, stir every 7 minutes or so, and watch carefully as sugared nuts can go from happily baking to unhappily burning in a nanosecond. I can't remember if the recipe directs it or not, but I recommend pulling the foil (with the nuts on) off the pan and letting the nuts cool on the foil on the countertop for 5-10 minutes before gently stirring to loosen and removing from the foil. All in all, this has been a terrific standby recipe that was the first one I thought of to put in my AR recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
352 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
These are GREAT!!! Only recommendation is that you bake these at a much lower temp and turn them very frequently. I did mine at 300, and used a spatula to turn them about every 8 - 10 min, as they will burn quickly w/ the sugar in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
306 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
Great recipe! I have actually modified it a bit after several tries. I use two egg whites and omit the cloves. I also double up, at least, on the cinnamon. Then I stir them every 10 minutes while they are baking. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYVOLFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
These are great! Flavor is amazing. I also found that if you beat the egg white to stiff peaks, it'll coat the pecans better. Try adding 1/2 tsp of ground chili pepper to the spice mix for a sweet n' spicy treat! I couldn't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Just made these as a snack, and yummy! I used brown sugar instead of white becuase I like the mollassis flavor, and added 1/4 tsp cayenne for alittle kick. I would probalby cut back on the cloves or leave them out alltogether. I like cloves, but not so sure I care for them in this recipe. I also dropped my oven temp to 300 and stirred every 5 minutes or so. Were in oven a little over 20 minutes total. AND I used a Pampered Chef stone so I didn't have to deal with foil or parchment paper. Made stirring easy. Overall though, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Tunney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minier, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
YUM! These are a great snack all year round. I actually love to put these in a salad with baby spinach, dried cranberries, crumbled blue cheese, sliced pears, and balsamic vinigrette. REALLY great! I think next time I make them I might try adding some chili powder to the mix for a great spicy/sweet flavor. Only thing I would recommend is to spray the foil with non-stick spray. As I was stirring them during baking I noticed they were sticking pretty bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Perfect recipe! I make a big batch of these and keep them in a pretty jar on the counter to have on hand for salads. Our favorite is grilled chicken salad with these peacns and raspberry vinagarette. Superb! Even my hubby who hates pecans and raspberries lives off of this stuff. Try em' you'll love em! I did reduce my oven temp to 325 and kept my eye on them at all times...they are worth the extra care in babysitting the stove! Thanks Pat...this is a winner!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2001
This recipe is the BEST! I've used walnuts as well, with similar success . . . and the most wonderful aroma fills your home as a result -- which is especially nice over the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
DELICIOUS and they turned out perfectly! My grandson loved these, also. I plan to bring some to the workplace for treats. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I was short on sugar, so use half white sugar, half brown sugar and they still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States