Spiced Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Absolutely yummy! I make them every Christmas and they are a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
These were really great and easy to make. I was a little concerned that they looked 'dull' instead of shiny and eye-catching. Next time i may not cook as long, and just boil the sugar mixture in a pot before stirring on the nuts. I think they'd look more glazed then. I did use walnuts with the pecans and they are so good. They are waiting to be placed in glass jars to gift away but meanwhile my husband and i have eaten a good chunk out of them. Besides the appearance i was very pleased with this recipe.... talk about addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
YUM! Made these for the first time tonight to bring to Thanksgiving at relatives' and my husband couldn't stop eating them! I cut back on the cloves to about half based on other reviews and they were GREAT! I made another glazed/spiced nut recipe as well and didn't liek it at all, but I'll certainly be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Have made this recipe numerous times and am finally getting around to rating it. It's my go-to recipe for when I need something sweet yet substantial in my menu, or want to give a from-the-kitchen thank you gift that's a little more sophisticated than cookies (these pecans look really pretty in a nice cellophane or sheer fabric bag tied with ribbon or raffia). I tripled the recipe and served them in foil cupcake liners at my daughter's birthday party and both the adults and kids gobbled them up. The spices are great as written, but I like to add a few dashes of chili powder or cayenne to lend a little spice. I line my baking pans with nonstick foil, bake them at 325, stir every 7 minutes or so, and watch carefully as sugared nuts can go from happily baking to unhappily burning in a nanosecond. I can't remember if the recipe directs it or not, but I recommend pulling the foil (with the nuts on) off the pan and letting the nuts cool on the foil on the countertop for 5-10 minutes before gently stirring to loosen and removing from the foil. All in all, this has been a terrific standby recipe that was the first one I thought of to put in my AR recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
354 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This recipe is fantastic. Just the right amount of spices. I made it for a holiday party, and now everyone expects me to bring it every time I'm invited!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Perfect recipe! I make a big batch of these and keep them in a pretty jar on the counter to have on hand for salads. Our favorite is grilled chicken salad with these peacns and raspberry vinagarette. Superb! Even my hubby who hates pecans and raspberries lives off of this stuff. Try em' you'll love em! I did reduce my oven temp to 325 and kept my eye on them at all times...they are worth the extra care in babysitting the stove! Thanks Pat...this is a winner!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
These are very tasty. I didn't find the cloves too overpowering at all. They added a nice spicy element. It's all in what you personally like. I added a tiny bit more cinnamon, but otherwise followed the recipe as written. It's a winner and I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I was eager to try this recipe because of all the great reviews. I'm sure it probably tastes fantastic if your oven doesn't burn it! I guess my oven must run hot, because my poor pecans came out burnt after 20 minutes. I should have pulled them out after my first stirring at 15 minutes. Only giving it three stars as I just feel it really should be mentioned to check on the nuts FREQUENTLY since ovens can vary so much. Really sad I didn't keep a closer eye on them. I'll try it again, but this time check it every 5 minutes, and probably yank it out at 15 minutes. Bummed because pecan halves cost and arm and a leg where I live.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This was my first time working with just nuts. These came out so good that I have to make another batch, my husband ate the first one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamala

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redwood Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Tasty and easy! Followed the suggestions to reduce cloves & add cayenne. Baked at 325 for 27 minutes (I live at high elevation). Excellent recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States