Spiced Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Phew..I pulled these out in the nick of time! So yes, watch closely (I had oven at 300 degrees). Love the basic recipe. I had close to 4 cups pecans so I used 2 egg whites with a splash of vanilla. I also added about 1/2 tsp chili powder & cayenne pepper to jazz these up. Omitted the clove & used allspice instead. Fairly simple and real darn yummy! Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
These are really fantastic!! I was worried that it had too much cloves and nutmeg but it was really tasty!! They taste great as a snack and also added to salads. I plan on making several batches to hand out as gifts at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
30 minutes is waaay too much time in the oven. I probably took the tray out around 15-18 minutes. Stir the nuts often, not just once or twice! I substituted vanilla extract for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I've made this for the holidays the last few years and it's been a huge hit with EVERYONE! I used wax paper last year which saved my baking pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Just made these as a snack, and yummy! I used brown sugar instead of white becuase I like the mollassis flavor, and added 1/4 tsp cayenne for alittle kick. I would probalby cut back on the cloves or leave them out alltogether. I like cloves, but not so sure I care for them in this recipe. I also dropped my oven temp to 300 and stirred every 5 minutes or so. Were in oven a little over 20 minutes total. AND I used a Pampered Chef stone so I didn't have to deal with foil or parchment paper. Made stirring easy. Overall though, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Tunney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minier, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Really good... used these on a salad with strawberries and mandarin oranges with some balsamic chicken breasts and a raspberry vinaigrette... KEEPER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Wow-these are great! I wanted a sweet snack, but didn't feel like baking cookies. These were a nice change. I followed the recipe, but only baked the nuts for 18 minutes at 300 degrees. I stirred them every 6 minutes. I could really taste the cloves, so if you're not a clove fan you might want to reduce the amount or leave them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Wow - these are incredible! I usually buy candied pecans, but these are a whole lot better. They are a great addition to a lettuce salad. Thanks for a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
OMG! These were wonderful! Don't make if you are trying to watch your calories. A small handful just is NOT enough! When I baked these, I lined my cookie sheet with parchment paper and it worked out very well. They didn't stick to the paper and clean up was very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
awesome! I added a dash of chile powder and cumin, and sprinkled with kosher salt before baking. Perfect blend of spicy, sweet, and salty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States