Spiced Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Lee Caglioti
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
What a wonderful, simple recipe! Great flavor, great crunch. I added some whole almonds to the pecans and the result was top-notch. I'll definitely make these again, they're an easy way to impress guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Caglioti

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sea Cliff, New York, USA
Living In: Punta Gorda, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I doubled the recipe for my Christmas Eve party, put in only half the amount of cloves it called for and what a hit! The word "addictive" was heard all around the room!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Excellent!! I baked at 300, omitted the ginger and used a combination of brown, white and Splenda...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is good. I wish they would've come out a bit spicier, I'll keep playing around with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILMARANDA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Excellent!!! This Recipe was so good I made a second batch. Used the previous suggestion to substitute Vanilla for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Delicious! I used Splenda in place of sugar - no one has been able to tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I thought that these were just okay. I added 1/4 tsp of cayenne because I wanted a little extra kick. I think that the amount of cloves in this recipe is just over the top and it came through in the finished product. If I were to make these again I would probably decrease it by at least half. Also, instead of just pecans I used mixed nuts. Overall, these were so-so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I've been making this same recipe (with a few exception listed below) for years and people just go crazy over them. What's great is that they're so easy and quick to make! The exceptions: 1) add 1/4 tsp + a pinch more ground cayenne pepper; 2) use Silpat mats to line my cookie sheets - nothing sticks to those babies; 3) bake at 300 degrees for 30 mins. Note about sugar substitutes: I've tried substituting fructose and splenda (for baking) for the 1/2 cup sugar and they DO NOT work! The time I used granulated fructose they were just awful and actually tasted burnt. The time I used splenda for baking they just tasted like all the other spices with no sweetness at all. Stick with good old granulated white sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarlyQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I tried to cut back on the sugar and was disappointed. They looked like they were thoroughly coated, but they didn't taste sweet enough. Next time I'll add all the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
These are wonderful. I also added a teaspoon of ground ginger. I'm making another batch today and I'm going to try it with some fresh grated ginger this time. We love everything ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Chef John's Crunchy Spiced Chickpeas

Roasted chickpeas with cumin, paprika and cayenne pepper.

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States