Spiced Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Excellent!! I baked at 300, omitted the ginger and used a combination of brown, white and Splenda...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is good. I wish they would've come out a bit spicier, I'll keep playing around with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILMARANDA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Excellent!!! This Recipe was so good I made a second batch. Used the previous suggestion to substitute Vanilla for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Delicious! I used Splenda in place of sugar - no one has been able to tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I thought that these were just okay. I added 1/4 tsp of cayenne because I wanted a little extra kick. I think that the amount of cloves in this recipe is just over the top and it came through in the finished product. If I were to make these again I would probably decrease it by at least half. Also, instead of just pecans I used mixed nuts. Overall, these were so-so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I've been making this same recipe (with a few exception listed below) for years and people just go crazy over them. What's great is that they're so easy and quick to make! The exceptions: 1) add 1/4 tsp + a pinch more ground cayenne pepper; 2) use Silpat mats to line my cookie sheets - nothing sticks to those babies; 3) bake at 300 degrees for 30 mins. Note about sugar substitutes: I've tried substituting fructose and splenda (for baking) for the 1/2 cup sugar and they DO NOT work! The time I used granulated fructose they were just awful and actually tasted burnt. The time I used splenda for baking they just tasted like all the other spices with no sweetness at all. Stick with good old granulated white sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarlyQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I tried to cut back on the sugar and was disappointed. They looked like they were thoroughly coated, but they didn't taste sweet enough. Next time I'll add all the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
These are wonderful. I also added a teaspoon of ground ginger. I'm making another batch today and I'm going to try it with some fresh grated ginger this time. We love everything ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
EXCELLENT!!!Made these for gifts. I put them in pretty jar and the family loved em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I got this recipe from Taste of Home magazine many years ago and make them every year. They always come out perfect and are a big hit with everyone. I was asked to put this in a recipe book that we made at work to sell as a fund raiser for our Christmas families. Store them in an airtight container and they'll last for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States