Spiced Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
What a great treat. My husband and friends love them. I used brown sugar instead of white, and the only spice I used was cinnamon, and they still turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I added 1/2 c. brown sugar also and I like the flavor. In error, I added too much cinnamon. They are still very good, but I will get that right the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I made these pecans for holiday gifts last year and they were such a big hit, I plan on doing it again this year. After the nuts cooled, I poured them into decorative bags and mixed them with M&Ms to make them look more festive. I find that the cloves are a bit too strong a flavor for my taste. Instead of cloves, I use allspice which has some of the flavor of cloves, but isn't as intense. Also, I know it already says this in the recipe, but it cannot be overstated: Don't let the nuts burn! I recommended turning them 3 or 4 times (instead of 1 or 2). My mom makes a diabetic-friendly version of this recipe where she uses Splenda instead of white sugar. It's not quite as tasty, but is still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I made these for Christmas gifts last year, and they got rave reviews. My husband didn't want me to give away as many of them as I did. This year, I'll be making them again. I like the idea of having a signature item that people associate with Christmas. They're simple enough to make, but they make a big impression!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
good not great. This burn very easily. I suggest watching them and stirring constantly or dcrease the cook temp to 250 while increasing the cook time to one hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cortney
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
5 Stars. Did not change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Yummy! I had a difficult time and burned the first batch despite many stirrings. Baked additional batches at 250 for an hour and they came out perfect! These are on their way to Afghanistan to our son in the Army.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ada, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I doubled the sugar and eggs, just because I like lots of coating! I omitted the cloves at the suggestion of others. These are the best and easiest I have made, and will be making them again for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
super easy and very tasty-however I would make them again with the reduction of both the cloves and nutmeg. Those two spices were more dominant and I would prefer the cinnamon to be the dominant flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texasbelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Finally a spiced pecan recipe with the flavors that I've been looking for. My wonderful mother-in-law makes them during the holidays and she overspices them. I took the advise of another reviewer and added 1/2 teaspoon to the mixture. This was a nice find before the holidays roll around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States