Spiced Pears and Pomegranate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I increased this dish to use up 3 pomegranates that I had. I also used a combination of plums, apples, and pears. It was a huge hit at a potluck I went to; everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajhk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Yum! It's not easy finding pomegranate recipes that use the arils so I'm really glad to have found this one. The little seeds in the arils are edible. They add a tiny crunch, but in my opinion don't detract from the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
SO good. Easy & much healthier than most desserts. I served this with plain yogurt sweetened with honey--fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This is the kind of recipe I love. Nothing artificial in it. All fresh. Delicious. No, it isn't necessarily quick to fix. Sometimes good food takes a while to prepare. Make sure your spices are not old. Give them the sniff test. If they don't have a strong aroma, toss and buy new. Buy the whole nutmeg pod and grate your own. It is easy to do, and you'll never go back to pre-ground nutmeg again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
FANTASTIC dish - my only 'complaint' is that it runs a little sweet. Which isn't a bad thing at all for me, as I love sweet fruit dishes, but next time I will tone down the sugar just a bit before taking to friend's dinner. Or, make it a dessert! It looks beautiful and is positively delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
An excellent way to use pomegranate. I usually make them the night before I need them and let them sit for a while in the fridge. They are good as a pancake topping or a short cake topping. Whipped cream is good on top of it too. Also good to use in oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrisbrandt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warrensburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
An amazing dessert! The flavors pair so nicely together, I would have never thought to pair these two fruits, but what a treat for the eyes and the taste buds! I will be brining this to every holiday function I attend, I am always trying to find healthy, low fat, low cal dishes to offer at a holiday feast. I subbed Splenda brown sugar blend for the brown sugar to cut down on the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This was great! I brought it to a dinner and everyone loved it. I did not peel the pears because I like the peel, and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Good recipe... but here's a helpful hint for removing the seeds! First cut the Pomegranate into quarters and then soak the quarters in cold water for 10-15 minutes. After soaking start breaking the seeds and flesh apart from each other and into the water. The seeds will sink to the bottom of the water and the flesh/membrane will float.So then you just have to remove the membrane and drain the water and you have a quick and stainless way of removing seeds! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I love this dish!! It is great after any meal... especially around the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

How to Seed a Pomegranate

See the simple, mess-free way to remove the seeds from pomegranates.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States