Spiced Pears and Pomegranate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
This recipe is not only delicious, but also uses my favorite fruit--pomegranate! Accented by good, tart pears and spiced, the pomegranate seeds come to life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This is the kind of recipe I love. Nothing artificial in it. All fresh. Delicious. No, it isn't necessarily quick to fix. Sometimes good food takes a while to prepare. Make sure your spices are not old. Give them the sniff test. If they don't have a strong aroma, toss and buy new. Buy the whole nutmeg pod and grate your own. It is easy to do, and you'll never go back to pre-ground nutmeg again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
SO good. Easy & much healthier than most desserts. I served this with plain yogurt sweetened with honey--fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I made this salad twice, once for book club and once for new year's eve. It was a raving success both times. It is very easy to make. It is a nice change of pace. The limited ingredients are great. It's refreshing. We liked it better with toasted pecans instead of almonds. The almonds didn't seem to do anything for the salad, but the pecans you could really taste and seemed to enhance it. Remember to toast them first. My husband actually made this dish both times as I was busy making other things, so it's easy enough for someone to make who doesn't cook a lot. One warning - if you bring this to a party it may cause a stir if people have never had pomegranate before. Most everyone at my parent's new years party had never had it, so my husband ended up demonstrating how to clean a pomegranate and what part to eat. It was pretty funny as he is fairly shy. If you're looking for a refreshing and easy fruit salad recipe you just found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Yum! It's not easy finding pomegranate recipes that use the arils so I'm really glad to have found this one. The little seeds in the arils are edible. They add a tiny crunch, but in my opinion don't detract from the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Wonderful! I love this recipe! It is super easy to make and really tasty. I have already made this twice. It also has a beautiful presentation. I don't understand the people who give this bad reviews just because they don't like how crunchy pomegranates are. If you don't like pomegranates, don't make this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Wonderful presentation of pomegranate and pears. It is well worth the effort to collect the seeds. I customized the recipe with a little whipped cream topping. Can hardly wait for the pomegranates to be in season again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
A quick reminder, Pom seeds are easily separated under water. The little gems float & all else sinks. Just scoop off suffice of water w/ slotted spoon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Very very good. I love pears, and marinating them with pomegranates and the spice mix made them even better. Wonderful salad. I might even make it again soon in the next week (I almost never do that!) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
An excellent way to use pomegranate. I usually make them the night before I need them and let them sit for a while in the fridge. They are good as a pancake topping or a short cake topping. Whipped cream is good on top of it too. Also good to use in oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrisbrandt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warrensburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

How to Seed a Pomegranate

See the simple, mess-free way to remove the seeds from pomegranates.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States