Spiced Pears and Pomegranate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This was so yummy! My 9 year daughter and I made it together. Its truly that easy! Great flavors! We actually used an orange from our orange tree and pomegranates from our tree. We substituted the lemon juice juice with orange juice because we didn't have any lemons and it was wonderful! This is definitely going to be a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitie & Jeanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Cajon, California, USA
Living In: Valley Center, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
My whole family loved this!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I made this salad twice, once for book club and once for new year's eve. It was a raving success both times. It is very easy to make. It is a nice change of pace. The limited ingredients are great. It's refreshing. We liked it better with toasted pecans instead of almonds. The almonds didn't seem to do anything for the salad, but the pecans you could really taste and seemed to enhance it. Remember to toast them first. My husband actually made this dish both times as I was busy making other things, so it's easy enough for someone to make who doesn't cook a lot. One warning - if you bring this to a party it may cause a stir if people have never had pomegranate before. Most everyone at my parent's new years party had never had it, so my husband ended up demonstrating how to clean a pomegranate and what part to eat. It was pretty funny as he is fairly shy. If you're looking for a refreshing and easy fruit salad recipe you just found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I made this on afternoon when the girls came over for soup and bread. It was such a beautiful addition to our lunch and so easy to make! Very tasty I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I love this dish!! It is great after any meal... especially around the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Good recipe... but here's a helpful hint for removing the seeds! First cut the Pomegranate into quarters and then soak the quarters in cold water for 10-15 minutes. After soaking start breaking the seeds and flesh apart from each other and into the water. The seeds will sink to the bottom of the water and the flesh/membrane will float.So then you just have to remove the membrane and drain the water and you have a quick and stainless way of removing seeds! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This was great! I brought it to a dinner and everyone loved it. I did not peel the pears because I like the peel, and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
An amazing dessert! The flavors pair so nicely together, I would have never thought to pair these two fruits, but what a treat for the eyes and the taste buds! I will be brining this to every holiday function I attend, I am always trying to find healthy, low fat, low cal dishes to offer at a holiday feast. I subbed Splenda brown sugar blend for the brown sugar to cut down on the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This is a yummy dish especially in the fall. I used Slenda Brown Suger to reduce the calories even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This was delicious! I used Yellow Delicious Apples instead of pears (that's what I had on hand) - but I will try it next time with the Pears. I liked the nutmeg but my kids were unfamiliar with it and didn't like it. Next time I will just leave it out. This is VERY pretty and I love using Pomegranates when they are in season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

How to Seed a Pomegranate

See the simple, mess-free way to remove the seeds from pomegranates.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States