Spiced Peach Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I enjoyed everything about these muffins except the molasses. There's something about it that doesn't sync with peaches, in my opinion. So next time I'll try something different in hopes of enhancing the peach flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I love peaches and molasses and I normally reduce the amount of sugar in baking recipes. That said I followed this recipe exactly and these were some of the worse muffins I've ever tried. Just not sweet and the molasses overpowers the peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
These muffins are awesome! I made a few substitutions but they still turned out delish! I used peach purée instead of applesauce, and made buttermilk by mixing 1 tbsp vinegar with 1 cup milk. Then instead of molasses I added a bit more brown sugar. I also added 1/2 tsp salt and 1 tsp cinnamon. Just enjoyed one for breakfast and am very happy with the result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
i have found when you use sugar you have to use SALT AWESOME RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I've made muffins with oats before--what I did was mix the buttermilk with the oats together and let it sit for 10 minutes before adding in the rest of the wet ingredients. THEN, I folded in the dry ingredients and the peaches. I baked my muffins in a 350* oven for 20 minutes--I got 12 biggish muffins out of one recipe. These muffins were so. freaking. good. Even my husband called me from work and told me how much he liked them. Between him and the kids, they ate 9 muffins this morning. This recipe's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I subbed yogurt for the buttermilk and use wheat flour instead of white. The muffins have a great, moist texture; I don't miss the fat at all. However, they really only taste like molasses. I love molasses, but don't really want my peach muffins to taste like gingerbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Bland and mushy when prepared according to the directions. I have them back in the oven to see if a longer baking time will help the texture. I wish I had read other reviews instead of trusting the 4 stars this had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Rating above as written but prefer to use 1/4 oil rather than applesauce because it gives to moister texture. Also, soak the oatmeal for at least 20 mins. The flavor is great but these changes are to suit our tastes. Thanks for another muffin to add to my files.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
These were not very good. None of my children (who usually adore fruit muffins) would eat more than one or two bites, and as soon as I tried one, I could see why. As other reviewers stated, the molasses flavor vastly overpowers the peach taste. The texture was not great, and was even worse in the 6 muffins that I added chopped pecans to. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I used paper muffin cups, which was a disaster (stuck like crazy!) and I also used Blackstrap molasses which is now all I can taste, unfortunately. I added 3-4Tbsp ground flax and didn't bother with the topping (added 1Tbsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp salt to the batter instead). I think had I had proper (fancy) molasses this would have turned out a lot better. Still, a healthy and nutritious muffin that I will serve my toddler (minus the burnt bottoms - molasses problem maybe?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States