Spiced Peach Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Rating above as written but prefer to use 1/4 oil rather than applesauce because it gives to moister texture. Also, soak the oatmeal for at least 20 mins. The flavor is great but these changes are to suit our tastes. Thanks for another muffin to add to my files.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
These were not very good. None of my children (who usually adore fruit muffins) would eat more than one or two bites, and as soon as I tried one, I could see why. As other reviewers stated, the molasses flavor vastly overpowers the peach taste. The texture was not great, and was even worse in the 6 muffins that I added chopped pecans to. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I used paper muffin cups, which was a disaster (stuck like crazy!) and I also used Blackstrap molasses which is now all I can taste, unfortunately. I added 3-4Tbsp ground flax and didn't bother with the topping (added 1Tbsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp salt to the batter instead). I think had I had proper (fancy) molasses this would have turned out a lot better. Still, a healthy and nutritious muffin that I will serve my toddler (minus the burnt bottoms - molasses problem maybe?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I am really enjoying these muffins! I guess I can't speak for the original recipe, since I made many adjustments to fit my needs (the original recipe would probably taste better!): doubled the recipe to freeze some, used skim milk with vinegar instead of buttermilk, used splenda for half of the brown sugar, and used gluten-free flour (thus adding xanthan gum). I will try to add a pinch of salt next time. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I would say that "spiced" is a misnomer, there is hardly any spice in these at all. I also found the molasses to be overpowering. Next time I would add more cinnamon, ginger, and maybe even some cardamom for a truly spiced peach muffin. I followed the recipe except that I addded salt, used half whole wheat flour, and added a bit of butter and flour to the topping for more of a streussel effect. They are not very sweet, and certainly healthier than your average muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
These muffins have a wonderful spongy texture, but are lacking in flavor. I must say they tasted better the next day. I replaced buttermilk with 1/3c plain nonfat greek yougurt and 2/3c unsweetened almond milk, omitted brown sugar (so my muffins were barely sweet), added cinnamon into the dough and didn't do the topping at all. I will bake these again with some extra spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I made these but totally changed up the recipe, based on what I had in the kitchen. Thanks for a jumping off point. They came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
After reading other reviews, here's how I modified this recipe: - no molasses, just 1/2 cup brown sugar. - pears instead of peaches (it's winter) - whole wheat flour - add 1/2 tsp. ginger, cardamom and vanilla extract - almond milk instead of buttermilk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
What a delightful muffin. I had peaches frozen from over the summer that I defrosted to use in this recipe. Only change was to cut the molasses in 1/2 because of some previous reviewers noting that it was a little strong. Really enjoyed the cinnamon/sugar on top. I added this before baking instead of after 15 minutes. These are light, fluffy, moist and flavorful. Great for using up the last of my peaches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I thought these were delicious. This is a great combination of flavors. I put the topping on before baking, then sprinkled some oats on top for effect. The only problem I had was that the muffins stuck to the paper liners. I will use the foil type next time to eliminate the problem. I filled my muffin tins full and got 16 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States