Spiced Parsnip Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Deliciously different! Like the recipe states, it's an excellent meal starter (is not hearty enough to use as a main course). When I used my hand mixer to blend it, some small bits remained intact but that added a nice texture. If you prefer a totally creamy soup, you would have to use a food processor. The curry wasn't too hot but it does creep up on you a little more with every spoonful so next time I'll decrease the amount of curry, but only very slightly. This is the type of soup one would be served in an upscale restaurant. Thanks for this unique, sophisticated recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
I agree with Kimars review. This soup was very easy to make and extremely tasty. I used a food processor, so I had no "bits" (as the kids say) in it. I loved it! Thanks Buttercup8 for the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
This was a hit. i did add some ginger, increased the curry to 1 Tablespoon, and added a tiny bit of allspice. Served with fresh crusy cuban bread and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
I didn't have boullion cubes (and I don't like to use them because of the MSG in them). I used Campbell's Ready To Use Chicken Broth with 25%less sodium. Other than that, added more garlic (can never seem to get enough) and I used 2% milk instead of cream since I didn't have cream on hand. I garnished the soup with American Saffron. The result was fantastic. Perfect, exactly what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKYBJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
My husband used his [parsnips from the garden. This was fantastic, even those that were sceptical of the idea and looks loved it as well. this recipe is now part of our favorite recipe collections.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Delicious! I could eat a bucket of this soup. I used a sprinkle of turmeric and ginger and used whole milk instead of cream. I will make this again and again. I think it would be a nice addition to our Thanksgiving dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMRAKAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
Great recipe, I also used the basics for a total amount for 24 people, left out the curry powder but added 2 packs of Cream Cheese with Garlic, it was very good and thanks to this recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
This soup is very unique and tasty! I added some cream cheese and a bit of celery and used a shallot not a full onion. I used a hand mixer which leaves it quite chunky. I will use my food processor next time for a smoother texture. This is a great autumn/winter soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Fantastic soup. I think it tastes better the next day. I used fat-free half-and-half and added a little more water and an extra bouillon cube. I agree that the curry can be a little warm so keep that in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States