Spiced Parsnip Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
So incredibly delicious! I used whole milk instead of cream and it turned out great. I also added some chopped up apple as another reviewer suggested. Best thing I've eaten in days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I was not impressed by this recipe. This was the first time I had ever cooked with parsnips and didn't care for the flavor of them. I've had the Curry Pumpkin soup from this site and it was absolutely fantastic! I love the curry in this one, but thought this soup was a little bland with an overwhelming "carrot" taste, which is basically what a parsnip is. Go for the Pumpkin soup instead. It's much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I love this recipe and its always a hit. I substitue half of the parsnips for pears and always try to use stock instead of bullion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
A great spicy soup! I have never used parsnips before and needed to find a recipe. This was wonderful! I used green onion because that is what I had and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I don't usually like curry, but with the red pepper this was a very good flavor. A great way to use up parsnips in the spring!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
We really like the taste of this, but feel that it is more of a curry base than a soup. If you like curry, you will like this. We will make it again, but we will be adding some shredded chicken & some veggies to make a meal that has a little sticking power. We supplemented the parsnips with potatoes to get the required amount for the recipe because we didn't have enough parsnip alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
SO good, and yes, it is a curry soup - probably would be good to have it in the title, but as soon as you see 'curry' in the ingredient list, you know that it's going to taste like curry, imho. Absolutely fabulous and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
First time I tried parsnips. Really good! The recipe is good as is, but to make it more to our taste, I used only 1 tsp of curry powder and added a dash of ginger. To cut calories, I used fat free half & half in place of the cream & light butter in place of the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I absolutely loved it - my partner didn't like it at all (tasted too much like parsnips apparently for my partner). I added a tiny bit of crushed ginger to the pan with the onions and garlic. I didn't add any milk or cream, it was delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I really enjoyed this, and I would definitely make it again. I'd never had parsnips before, and was looking for a recipe that was simple and that I basically had everything on hand for.. I didn't have any cream or chicken bouillon (I know, shame on me!) So I did my best substituting them, and it turned out well. I usually experiment with recipes, but I'd like to make this again and actually follow the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States