Spiced Parsnip Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Just made this soup and it turned out great! The only thing I changed to cut on the calories but keep the creaminess, was to sub in 2% plain greek yogurt. It gives it the same creaminess but is absolutely delicious, and adds extra protein! I'm going to try adding an apple next time. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn<3Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I just made a big batch of this with the intention of serving it to guests tomorrow, but we just ate so much I'm not sure there'll be enough left! One of my guests is vegetarian, so I used vegetable stock rather than chicken - it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
If you like curry you'll love this. I'm not a big fan, but it was creamy, smooth and a nice taste. I used 1 1/2 tsp of curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
The curry powder you use in this recipe makes a lot of difference. The first time I made it with Trader Joe's curry powder and it was just ok. The second time I used some massaman curry, and wow was that good. You can punch up the spice a bit by adding some tumeric, garam masala, or smoked paprika. I also cut back on the butter and used milk instead of cream to make this healthier. Neither was missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This recipe was so good, even with a couple major changes. We had parsnips from the garden but not enough, so I used 50/50 with carrots. And, when I realized that I didn't have curry seasoning, I used 1tsp Tumeric & 1/2 tsp paprika. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
According to the comments, I cut down the curry powder to 1 teaspoon and it was just the right spiciness (didn't want to cover the parsnip flavor). I also put 1 Tsp ghee instead of the butter and omitted heavy cream. Really liked this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Since my daughter is a vegetarian, I substituted a large can of frozen apple juice and white wine and added enough water to make 3 1/4 cups liquid for the chicken bouillon cube. I also added some poultry seasoning and 2 bay leaves. This also makes it low in sodium and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I didn't know what to do with all the parsnips I got from the CSA (mixed box of produce). This was the perfect recipe. Simple, yet tasty. It really brings out the usual flavor of parsnips. All the ingredients were right on. I didn't make any adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Fleming

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Amazing. I let my friend taste this and was informed it was my new potluck dish! I serve it with a little bit of Parmesan cheese on top or seasoned croutons on top. Who says students have to eat poorly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
So incredibly delicious! I used whole milk instead of cream and it turned out great. I also added some chopped up apple as another reviewer suggested. Best thing I've eaten in days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States