Spiced Parsnip Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was my first time cooking with parsnips, and it was a great success! I don't know if my new curry powder was extra hot, but it was very spicy! My husband loved it, but we added yogurt to cool it down a bit. I used whole milk, so this also probably helped thicken it up. I'd recommend the addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Super! Really filling. I chopped up an apple and added it near the end- gives it an extra fresh flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I just made it. My parsnips were on the large size; so I don't think it was as sweet as it would be with smaller ones. But it is delicious. I julienned the parsnips in my Cuisinart -- much easier than cubing by hand. I haven't added the cream yet. It's awfully good without it, but it's the holidays so I may be more naughty than nice. Has anyones used condensed non-fat milk instead of cream? I hear it's a good substitution, but it taste funny to me right out of the can. I wonder if that taste would disappear in a soup, especially a spicy one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I love the taste of the curry with the sweetness of the parsnips. To make it lighter and vegetarian, I used 4 cups of vegetable broth and instead of the water, bouillon and cream, 1 tbsp oil instead of the butter, and I also added a tsp of grated fresh ginger. I received rave reviews on the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe -- absolutely delicious! I added two bay leaves, about a tablespoon of paprika, a smidge of garlic powder, and a medium-sized sweet potato to give some extra color and flavor, used soy milk instead of whipping cream (I was cooking for vegans, the soy milk worked just fine), and added a touch of flour to thicken it. Excellent served with or over rice... the addition of the rice will make a meal. Wheat breads also work nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This soup was fantastic! For more of a bite I added crushed red pepper (1/8 teaspoon?) while sauteing the garlic and curry powder. Perfect! It just barely made me sweat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blissfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Loved it! I had a pink & chocolate color scheme going on so I was generous w/ the paprika & I added a tbp of tomato paste to add a little "pink". Turned more orange than pink but oh well. ;o) I've never had parsnips before & was very surprised that they tasted so much like carrots. I served this as a first course in a very tall, slender shot glass (I felt so Top-Chefish! LOL) paired w/ Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts II. Thanks BUTTERCUP8!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Apart from adding some freshly ground pepper, I followed the recipe exactly. Absolutely delicious. I'll definitely be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
I love roast parsnips but I am sorry I did not find this soup appealing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLOSSUM79

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
Oh, my! Wow! I never had parsnips before and I could not beleive how sweet and delicious this soup was. I made the following changes to lower the fat: a little olive oil in place of butter and nonfat milk in place of cream; it was delicious even with these alterations. I also added a little ginger and served it with notfat yogurt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States