Spiced Parsnip Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Although I had this recipe in May it would make an excellent winter soup on a cold day. I served it with croutons which was a tasty addition. It was very easy to make with the immersion blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa O'Neill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was my first time cooking with parsnips, and it was a great success! I don't know if my new curry powder was extra hot, but it was very spicy! My husband loved it, but we added yogurt to cool it down a bit. I used whole milk, so this also probably helped thicken it up. I'd recommend the addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Super! Really filling. I chopped up an apple and added it near the end- gives it an extra fresh flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I just made it. My parsnips were on the large size; so I don't think it was as sweet as it would be with smaller ones. But it is delicious. I julienned the parsnips in my Cuisinart -- much easier than cubing by hand. I haven't added the cream yet. It's awfully good without it, but it's the holidays so I may be more naughty than nice. Has anyones used condensed non-fat milk instead of cream? I hear it's a good substitution, but it taste funny to me right out of the can. I wonder if that taste would disappear in a soup, especially a spicy one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I love the taste of the curry with the sweetness of the parsnips. To make it lighter and vegetarian, I used 4 cups of vegetable broth and instead of the water, bouillon and cream, 1 tbsp oil instead of the butter, and I also added a tsp of grated fresh ginger. I received rave reviews on the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe -- absolutely delicious! I added two bay leaves, about a tablespoon of paprika, a smidge of garlic powder, and a medium-sized sweet potato to give some extra color and flavor, used soy milk instead of whipping cream (I was cooking for vegans, the soy milk worked just fine), and added a touch of flour to thicken it. Excellent served with or over rice... the addition of the rice will make a meal. Wheat breads also work nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This soup was fantastic! For more of a bite I added crushed red pepper (1/8 teaspoon?) while sauteing the garlic and curry powder. Perfect! It just barely made me sweat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blissfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Loved it! I had a pink & chocolate color scheme going on so I was generous w/ the paprika & I added a tbp of tomato paste to add a little "pink". Turned more orange than pink but oh well. ;o) I've never had parsnips before & was very surprised that they tasted so much like carrots. I served this as a first course in a very tall, slender shot glass (I felt so Top-Chefish! LOL) paired w/ Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts II. Thanks BUTTERCUP8!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Apart from adding some freshly ground pepper, I followed the recipe exactly. Absolutely delicious. I'll definitely be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
I love roast parsnips but I am sorry I did not find this soup appealing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLOSSUM79

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States