Spiced Parsnip Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by IronChefHarvey
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
A lovely, thick, rich soup. I have never cooked with parsnips before and this was really good and easy. I don't agree that it has any heat at all, but I added about 2 pinches of cayenne pepper, which did the trick. And I do think "curried parsnip soup" would be a better name. (To me, "spiced" suggests pumpkin pie spices, but maybe that would be good too.) The soup is very thick and filling, I used 4 cups water and added a little skim milk at the end, just to make it a little less dense. But it really doesn't need improvement - it's delicious and perfect on this cold rainy night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IronChefHarvey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I have made this several times now, its just simply fast and easy to make. It tastes great as well. I have added fresh parsley to the mix as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moritz Reiter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This just tastes like curry. Which is good if you like curry, but it's not what I was expecting and if I want something that tastes just like curry I'll make curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This recipe turned out great! As some had suggested I added some ginger and pureed the soup instead of using a hand mixer. I used heavy cream as the recipe stated but then thinned it out with milk because it was a consistancy slightly smoother than whipped potatoes. Next time I will just use milk. Otherwise followed the recipe and loved it! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Really good soup, made on P2, make again forsure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
this has been my all-time favorite soup since I discovered it on a video put out on Dr. Mercola's website. An english lady makes it step by step and calls it Curried Parsnip Soup. It stole my heart. Her only difference is instead of using cream, use about a cup of sour cream at the end and fresh ground pepper. You can also up the curry to taste. She also uses either chicken or vegetable stock exclusively. This is so wonderful...I highly encourage you to try it...and try it my way, with the sour cream. It is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
When I made this soup I wasn't sure my boys (4 & 10) would eat parsnips, so we called it" Magic Flying Soup". They loved it so much one requested it for his birthday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
It was good. I think the name should be changed to Curry Parsnip Soup. You must like curry to enjoy this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACKLEY420

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crossville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Excellent! We eat soup every night with dinner and I love having this one in our rotation! I did not use the heavy cream and the curry really complimented the parsnip's flavor! I tripled the recipe and froze the other portions. I defrost it with some extra water - as the soup thickens once it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
SOOO yummy! I omitted the cream because I don't do dairy and it was delicious without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States