Spiced Parsnip Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
i got a ton of parsnips through my csa, this was a great way to use them. i added more curry to the recipe for more spice. freezed well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
delicious soup! only thing i'd suggest is anyone who's first soup this is (like it was mine) consider peeling/prepairing the parsnips before you start frying the onions, just found i was rushing slightly, had to turn of the onions for short time whilst contiuned to prep!! and added a extra 50ml of cream, just to stop it being to spicy - came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JohnnyBoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Delicious! I do agree should be called "curried parsnip soup" instead though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I followed this recipe as exactly as possible and while it smelled fantastic while cooking, it tasted rather bitter. I've never had parsnips before so maybe I just don't like them. Maybe my soup was too hot when I added the cream and it burnt. Or maybe my parsnips weren't ripe. I'm not sure, but neither my husband nor I finished our bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martina Foster Baer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watseka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Wow! Sweet and Spicy :D. I used a bit more curry than called for and it was delicious! I also veganized this recipe by using a nice olive oil instead of butter, soy milk instead of real milk and veggy bouillon instead of chicken. Turned out great :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Malmö, Skane, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This is a great soup! Instead of heavy cream I used 3/4 can coconut milk. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Easy, elegant, versatile. First time I have cooked Parsnips, but it won't be the last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I used 1 lb of parsnips and 1/2 lb of carrots. I used chicken broth or vegetable broth instead of just hot water. Instead of curry powder I used 2 cloves of garlic, 1 tsp of fresh ginger, 1/4 tsp clove powder and 1/3 tsp fresh ground pepper. It is really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Simple, delicious, and so warming for a blustery winter day. Go root vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsStone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IronChefHarvey
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
A lovely, thick, rich soup. I have never cooked with parsnips before and this was really good and easy. I don't agree that it has any heat at all, but I added about 2 pinches of cayenne pepper, which did the trick. And I do think "curried parsnip soup" would be a better name. (To me, "spiced" suggests pumpkin pie spices, but maybe that would be good too.) The soup is very thick and filling, I used 4 cups water and added a little skim milk at the end, just to make it a little less dense. But it really doesn't need improvement - it's delicious and perfect on this cold rainy night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IronChefHarvey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States