Spiced Parsnip Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I had 6 pounds of parsnips and onions from the garden to use up, so I made a huge vat of this soup. Only changes I made were to make it vegan, using vegetable broth in place of the chicken broth and coconut milk in place of the cream. It turned out well (which is good because now I have 20 portion containers of it in my freezer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Newton

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
My family and I did not like this at all, sadly it was our first experience with parsnip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
this recipe was a big disappointment. I found that I disliked the combination of the sweet parsnips with the curry powder. Perhaps it would be better with coconut milk. But ultimately, if I'm going to go to the trouble of making a soup like this, I think that squash or pumpkin soup would be yummier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
One of my favorites.........I do not put the cream in (doesn't need it) perfect if you are trying to eat healthy and want something warming on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Loved it! Flavourful and fast. Took the suggestion and added the apple. Used light cream. Excellent lunch with nice bread and cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I loved it..used the recipe..didnt make changes…it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Not for kids that's for sure...didn't like it either...not going to make it again...off my list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Outstanding!!! I just made this today and it is amazing. I love to read reviews but am not a big reviewer but felt the need to write in. I followed it to a tee ( except I used better than boullion instead of a cube ). I was making it ahead of time so was just going to add the cream tonight when I reheated it, but after testing it, I don't even think it needs it. I am sure you could add it if you like, but I don't feel anything is lost by omitting it and it makes it a bit healthier. I don't even like parsnips and this soup is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This was quite good! I made quite a few adjustments as I had made a roasted vegetable dish a week prior and had left over parsnips and turnips, so I chopped up both instead of using all parsnips. I also didn't have any curry powder so I substituted 1/2 tsp of cayenne and 1.5 tsp of sweet paprika. I also used milk and not cream because it's what I had and this still came out quite good. I added a dash of nutmeg at the end to bring out a bit more sweetness. Pretty yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I have never known what to do with parsnips other than put them in stew/soup as an addition. I've never made a soup with them as the base before. This was great! I just used regular curry powder and found that 2 tsp wasn't enough so I probably used the wrong kind. I ended up doubling the curry powder. I also added a little agave nectar because the parsnips I bought turned out a little bitter, and a little extra garlic powder. I didn't have regular milk so used 1C (1/2c wasn't enough) of unsweetened almond milk. The agave nectar cut the bitterness of the parsnips and blended quite well with the curry powder. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States